InfoGuides: Citation Information: Resources for Specific Styles

Last Updated: Nov 11, 2024 2:05 PM

Resources for Specific Styles - OWL

The resources on this page will offer information about how to create references (citations), in-text citations, paper formatting, and more.

The Purdue University Online Writing Lab, known as Purdue OWL, is commonly considered the expert resource concerning many citation styles. It's website is freely accessible and offers detailed, current information for the following styles: APA, MLA, IEEE, Chicago, AMA, and ASA. Purdue OWL also offers excellent information about general writing, avoiding plagiarism, and resources specifically for students whose first language is not English.

Purdue University Online Writing Lab

For citation information on the Purdue OWL website use the Research and Citation Resources link below. (You can find the link to this page on the menu to left of their website homepage.)

Research and Citation Resources - OWL

Resources for Specific Styles - Excelsior

Excelsior Online Writing Lab. Excelsior College, much like Purdue University, offers a very comprehensive website speaking to all things academic writing related. In terms of their citation resources, however, you will find only the three most commonly used styles: MLA, APA, and Chicago. If you are needing assistance with one of these three, the Excelsior OWL website is an extremely helpful resource. See the link below for their Citation & Documentation.

A note about databases and pre-made citations:

Many library research databases offer ready made citations. It's important to be aware that these citations are machine generated and may contain errors. It's always a good idea to double check these database generated citations for accuracy.

IN THE BOXES BELOW YOU WILL SEE RESOURCES FOR SPECIFIC STYLE TYPES. IF YOU DO NOT SEE WHAT YOU NEED, REFER BACK TO THE PURDUE OWL RESEARCH & CITATION WEBSITE FOR ADDITIONAL STYLE TYPES, OR CONTACT YOUR LIBRARIAN.

APA

APA (American Psychological Association) style was established in order to create a simple set of procedures, or “style” guidelines, that would codify the many components of scientific writing. “Scientific” includes both some of the physical sciences as well as the social sciences such as psychology, anthropology, criminal justice, sociology, etc.

APA Citation Examples

The American Psychological Association's own website which offers many examples of the most commonly cited types of sources. For a list of examples for different types of sources, click on the tab entitled, "Style and Grammar Guidelines."

Ebooks

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition, is the official source for APA Style. Guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials
APA Guidelines - 7th Edition
Publication Date: 2020-05-01
Quick reference guide to the 7th edition of the American Psychological Association's publication manual for rules of punctuation, reference citation, structure and format across six handy pages filled with the answers you need for these commonly used guidelines.

MLA

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to cite sources within the language arts, cultural studies, and other humanities disciplines.

MLA’s own website is not complete, but it does offer examples of how to cite five basic source types. You can click on an entry to get more information, as well as find links to posts with more examples.

Physical Book

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language; The Modern Language Association of America
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements.

Chicago (CMOS)

The Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) is the preferred formatting and style guidelines used by the disciplines of history, philosophy, religion, and the arts.

The manual offers many examples of source types as well as information about in-text citations, paper formatting, and punctuation.

Ebooks:

The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
ISBN: 9780226817972
Publication Date: 2024-09-19
Digital access to CMOS 18 and CMOS 17.
The Chicago Manual of Style 18 (print)
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2024 (2nd floor)

Harvard Referencing Style

RIT has no defined style for "Harvard Referencing." Instead we recommend using Bournemouth's guidelines and resources found below along with BibGuru, a third party citation management tool. TAKE NOTE: the recommendation and examples are different in these two resources as there is no controlling authority. Ask your professor which flavor of Harvard they want to see in your paper.

Harvard Reference Guide from Bournemouth
This great guide has excellent information on how to cite and reference using a Harvard style. Be aware that Harvard style is not maintain by one entity. Check with your professor to know what variation they want.
BibGuru Recommendations for Harvard
This takes you to recommendations and explanations for Harvard from BibGuru a third party citation tool. Note: BibGuru is not a great resource for Harvard style because there are many local variants and no one standard. Look at Bournemouth's guidelines for a more reliable source.

IEEE

The IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) referencing system is commonly used in technical fields, typically electrical, electronic and computer systems engineering. In the IEEE referencing style, a number [X] is inserted at the point in your writing where you cite another author's work. At the end of your work, the full reference [X] of the work is provided. Citations and their corresponding references are provided in the order they appear throughout your writing.

IEEE Website Reference Manual
The IEEE Reference Guide outlines how to cite a wide variety of references in IEEE style.
IEEE Website Mathematics Guide
The IEEE Mathematics Guide illustrates how mathematical equations should be rendered in a technical article.

Ebook:

The IEEE Guide to Writing in the Engineering and Technical Fields by David Kmiec; Bernadette Longo
Publication Date: 2017-09-25
Broken up into two sections: "Writing in Engineering Organizations" and "What Can You Do With Writing?" Covers topics most important to the working engineer and engineering students. Includes sample documents and offers a companion website that offers engineering documents based on real projects.