Here are some streaming videos related to Autism from Films on Demand as well as book titles. Below is the RIT Libraries Catalog you can use to search for these topics. You can also search Films on Demand to find more videos not listed here.
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for educational films and videos including titles from PBS, the BBC, CNN, celebrated documentarians, TED Talks, National Geographic, and more. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.
Sample Video Titles
Infant Brains Show Autism EarlyResearchers say studying babies' brains may be a critical part of unlocking some of the mystery behind autism. It could help researchers determine which children are likely to develop autism, allowing for an earlier diagnosis and intervention
Love, Hope And AutismThis program takes viewers behind the startling statistics on the rise of autism in North America, and deep into the heart and history of a family raising a son with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). This film exposes the powerful effects of ASD on a family, from the strain on the marriage to the inevitable shift in family dynamics
ADHD Delays Autism DiagnosisForty to sixty percent of children with autism also have attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, or ADHD. However, the presence of both often leads to a delayed diagnosis. Researchers are trying to learn more about the link btween the two conditions to help with earlier diagnosis and treatment
Autism : Insight from InsideFeaturing Temple Grandin, Jonathan Chase, and Steven Shore
Temple Grandin, Jonathan Chase, and Steven Shore explore how Autism affects their lives, the benefits and drawbacks to being diagnosed, and how society can help those afflicted lead more fulfilling and productive lives
Unraveling the Mystery of Autism : Spark StudyAutism spectrum disorders affect one in 68 people. Researchers are now collecting information and DNA samples from 50,000 people with autism and their family members to unravel some of the genetic mysteries behind the disorder
AutismThis module opens with statistics and a description of autism and how the disorder has been viewed historically. Studies now support the theory that autism results from a lack of normal neural growth during prenatal development. Dr. Temple Grandin of Colorado State University, severely autistic as a child, is presented as someone who overcame her autism and managed to use her way of perceiving the world to her advantage.
Behavioral Disorders of ChildhoodThis module opens with statistics and a description of autism and how the disorder has been viewed historically. Studies now support the theory that autism results from a lack of normal neural growth during prenatal development. Dr. Temple Grandin of Colo
Almost all parents worry whether or not their child's behavior is normal. This program visits families of youngsters with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, conduct disorder, separation anxiety disorder, and autism. In addition, experts in child development and psychology discuss how to differentiate abnormal behavior from developmental stages.
Handbook of Assessment and Diagnosis of Autism Spectrum DisorderThis handbook details best practices and discusses ongoing challenges in assessment and diagnosis of autism spectrum disorder (ASD). Chapters address assessment and diagnostic protocols, developmental considerations in ASD assessment, and issues concerning comorbid psychological and medical conditions. Various aspects of the disorder are emphasized throughout the handbook - from assessment in adolescent and adult populations to the latest findings in neuropsychology. The book concludes with future directions for research and clinical applications, focusing on universal screening, improved assessment methods, and earlier and more accurate diagnosis. Topics featured in this handbook include: Types of ASD assessment. Report writing for ASD evaluations. Stress and satisfaction in the diagnostic process. Clinical and neuropsychological perspectives from comorbid diagnosis of ASD and ADHD. Executive functions in ASD. The Handbook of Assessment and Diagnosis of Autism Spectrum Disorder is an essential reference for researchers, clinicians, professionals, and graduate students in clinical child and school psychology, child and adolescent psychiatry, and social work as well as rehabilitation medicine/therapy, behavioral therapy, pediatrics, and educational psychology.
Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders, Assessment, Interventions, and PolicyThe latest and most comprehensive resource on autism and relateddisorders Since the original edition was first published more than aquarter-century ago, The Handbook of Autism and PervasiveDevelopmental Disorders has been the most influential referencework in the field. Volume 2 of this comprehensive workincludes a wealth of information from the experts in theirrespective specialities within the larger field of autism studies:Assessment, Interventions, and Social Policy Perspectives. Within the three sections found in Volume 2, readers willfind in-depth treatment of: Screening for autism in young children; diagnostic instrumentsin autism spectrum disorders (ASD); clinical evaluation inmultidisciplinary settings; assessing communications in ASD; andbehavioral assessment of individuals with autism, including currentpractice and future directions Interventions for infants and toddlers at risk; comprehensivetreatment models for children and youth with ASD; targetedinterventions for social communication symptoms in preschoolerswith ASD; augmentative and alternative communication; interventionsfor challenging behaviors; supporting mainstream educationalsuccess; supporting inclusion education; promoting recreationalengagement in children with ASD; social skills interventions; andemployment and related services for adults with ASD Supporting adult independence in the community for individualswith high functioning ASD; supporting parents, siblings, andgrandparents of people with ASD; and evidence-based psychosocialinterventions for individuals with ASD Special topic coverage such as autism across cultures; autismin the courtroom; alternative treatments; teacher and professionaltraining guidelines; economic aspects of autism; and considerationof alternative treatments The new edition includes the relevant updates to help readersstay abreast of the state of this rapidly evolving field and givesthem a guide to separate the wheat from the chaff as informationabout autism proliferates.
Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders, Diagnosis, Development, and Brain MechanismsThe newest edition of the most comprehensive handbook on autism and related disorders Since the original edition was first published more than a quarter of a century ago, The Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders, Volume 1: Diagnosis, Development, and Brain Mechanisms, has been the most influential reference work in the field of autism and related conditions. The new, updated Fourth Edition takes into account the changes in the disorders' definitions in the DSM-V and ICD-10 that may have profound implications for diagnosis and, by extension, access to services. Along with providing practical clinical advice--including the role of psychopharmacology in treatment--the handbook codifies the ever-expanding current body of research throughout both volumes , offering a wealth of information on the epidemiology of autism and the genetic, environmental, biochemical, social, and neuropathological aspects of the disorder. Volume 1 includes: Information on outcomes in adults with autism spectrum disorders A range of issues and interventions important from infancy, though adolescence and beyond for individuals with autism spectrum disorders Current information about play development, including skills, object play, and interventions Coverage of the state of genetic, biochemical, and neuropathological autism research Chapters on psychopharmacology and medical care in autism and related conditions The new edition includes the relevant updates to help readers stay abreast of the state of this rapidly evolving field and gives them a guide to separate the wheat from the chaff as information about autism proliferates.