InfoGuides: PSYC 222 BioPsychology (Bosworth): Amnesia e-Videos/Books

Amnesia

Here are some streaming videos related to Amnesia from Films on Demand as well as book titles. Below is the RIT Libraries Catalog you can use to search for these topics. You can also search Films on Demand to find more videos not listed here

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for educational films and videos including titles from PBS, the BBC, CNN, celebrated documentarians, TED Talks, National Geographic, and more. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.

Sample Video Titles

The Kids with No Memory We all forget things from time to time. Birthdays, names, whether we've met someone before. But what if you couldn't remember anything after just a few hours, often forgetting to take off your clothes before getting in the bath, or couldn't even recognize your own reflection? And how much tougher is it if you're just a teenager? We normally associate memory loss with older people, but around the UK scores of teenagers are battling with severe amnesia. This film follows a number of young amnesiacs in their day-to-day lives and for the first time, reveals the huge challenges they face; from school and sports, to shopping and relationships, showing how things most people take for granted are a heartbreaking struggle for these young people
Organic Mental Disorders A teenager must relearn all the basic skills following a head injury. After years of alcohol abuse, a man loses his short-term memory. A woman sees her husband struggle against the ravages of Alzheimer's disease. Science and technology's role in treating these debilitating disorders is also examined in this program
The Plastic Fantastic Brain. Part 2 This film is the second part of a two-part documentary. Cognitive neuroscientists study two men: Rick Baron, who has a superior autobiographical memory, and can recall an unusually high amount of details of his life, and Luigi De Santi, an amnesiac man who has lost 32 years of memories following an accident. Technologies such as the fMRI and SenseCam are utilized

Web Video Titles

Living With Amnesia: The Hippocampus and Memory Amnesia appears in many different forms. This module shows how the extent and location of damage can result in varying levels of memory impairment. Footage of Mike, an amnesic individual, demonstrates the result of an injury to the hippocampus. Mike's reaction to his memory deficit and drastic coping measures underscore the importance of memory to everyday functioning.

Sample Book Titles

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.
Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders "The Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders, 2nd Edition is a two-volume set designed for allied health students, patients, and the general public. This title offers the user a comprehensive collection of interrelated articles on a wide range of neurological topics for a ""one-stop"" approach to finding answers. The collection of entries covers neurological disorders ranging from the obscure and rare to the common and well-known (including Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, etc.). The encyclopedia also includes entries on related medications and drug classes, patient and caregiver support, as well as background articles on brain and nervous system anatomy and function. "
Memory 101 Contemporary research has found that memory is much more than the process for recalling information that has been learned and retained--it is a rich, nuanced process that is an important part of every human activity. This highly readable foundational text provides an overview of the theories and research on human memory from a psychological perspective. Grounded in the premise that all psychological processes depend on memory, and that memory is shaped by the functions it serves, the authors look at a wide range of memory processes and discuss the major theories that have been developed to explain how it functions