Here are some streaming videos related to Concussion from Films on Demand as well as book titles. Below is the RIT Libraries Catalog you can use to search for these topics. You can also search Films on Demand to find more videos not listed here.
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for educational films and videos including titles from PBS, the BBC, CNN, celebrated documentarians, TED Talks, National Geographic, and more. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.
Sample Video Titles
Brainscope Test for Concussion /Between 1.7 to 3 million sports-related concussions happen every year, but they can be difficult to diagnose. A new portable device is making it easier for everyone.
The Hidden Epidemic: Post-Concussion SyndromeIt leads to anxiety, personality changes, substance abuse, and suicidal depression. Considering the symptoms, it's easy to see how PCS, or post-concussion syndrome, could be the most under-diagnosed condition affecting young people today. Athletes in high-impact sports are the most at risk, but which other groups are vulnerable? What actions should be taken when the disorder is suspected? How can PCS be better addressed by medical and mental health professionals? This program explores all of those questions and more, with help from professional athletes like Johnny Damon and Matt Hasselbeck, well-known psychiatrist and brain specialist Daniel Amen, and an in-depth dramatized case study
Sample Book Titles
Concussion Care ManualThis is a practical manual for clinicians who take care of patients with concussions. The long-term effects of concussions are an increasingly recognized problem in the medical community and by the general public. Most people recover well from concussions, but a substantial minority does not. However, most clinicians do not have specific training in how to evaluate and treat concussion patients who do not make a rapid and complete recovery.This manual, based on the experience of the director of the concussion clinic at Washington University in St Louis, provides specific step-by-step guidance for managing a variety of problems related to complex concussions: making an accurate diagnosis, general treatment strategies, headaches, sleep disruption, attention deficit, mood instability, anxiety and depression, post-traumatic stress, personality change, balance problems, dizziness, fatigue etc. Furthermore, there are specific sections on return to work, return to driving, return to school and return to contact sports. Finally, the manual includes information on special topics, such as concussion in adolescents, children, contact sport athletes, military personnel, and patients involved in medico-legal matters.The manual is written for clinicians with a broad range of backgrounds: primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, physician's assistants, athletic trainers, emergency medicine doctors, neurologists, neurosurgeons, psychiatrists, and rehabilitation medicine physicians should all be able to use the manual effectively. There is information on how to set up a specialty concussion clinic, and an extensive list of internet-based resources related to concussion. A list of other publications is provided to point to additional detailed information beyond what a pocket-sized 'on-the-fly' manual can provide.
Foundations of Sport-Related Brain InjuriesIn summarizing current insights and controversies over concussions in athletics, this book makes the vital point that symptom resolution does not necessarily mean injury resolution. Research shows that dysfunctional pathways continue for extended periods even after a minor concussion. Until the consequences of short-term perturbations and long-term residual brain dysfunctions are better understood, concussions must be treated with respect and given a higher priority for continued research activity.
The Handbook of Sport NeuropsychologyThe book will provide an excellent reference for health care providers in the area of concussion management and the increased emphasis on the incorporation of neurocognitive testing and the role of neuropsychologists. This is information that needs to out in the Sports Medicine arena as to how to incorporate neuropsychologists in the Sports Medicine team.. OCo Steven L. Cole, ATC. Associate Athletic Director, Internal Operations. College of William and Mary Dr. Webbe has used his vast knowledge and experience in the field of sports neuropsychology to create a superb road map, which provides important information and direction for the study of sports concussion. This handbook reflects his skill in attracting some of the world's leaders in sports neuropsychology as chapter authors, and his ability to organize and integrate their unique funds of knowledge.. Jeffrey T. Barth, PhD. University of Virginia School of Medicine. (From the Foreword). An estimated 300,000 sport-related concussions occur every year in the United States, many of which lead to short- or long-term impairment or even sudden death. Frank Webbe, one of the foremost leaders in the field, has compiled the most up-to-date, comprehensive volume on sport neuropsychology currently available. It presents, through the contributions of leading practitioners in the field, an exhaustive study of sport-related concussions and the multitude of management and treatment issues that arise from them. The handbook is structured within a conceptual framework, which includes an overview of the field, ethical considerations, risk factors and mechanisms, diagnosis and assessment, and counseling and rehabilitation principles. It integrates research findings from a wide variety of professional and amateur sports, including football, hockey, boxing, wrestling, and others. The book also addresses collateral effects of mild and traumatic head injury such as Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, and depression. Synthesizing all the diverse facets of the burgeoning field of sport neuropsychology, this clear and concise volume will serve as a springboard for research yet to be realized. Key features: .: Integrates knowledge from sports and exercise science with neuropsychology; Includes the latest research on the role of neuroimaging and electrophysical approaches to understanding concussion; Clarifies the professional training and ethical behavior of a sport neuropsychologist; Highlights the emotional components of concussion; Discusses the acute and chronic effects of repeated head trauma"