InfoGuides: CHST/IHST Faculty Library Resource/ Tools: Databases/Videos

Last Updated: Sep 13, 2024 2:54 PM

Database Examples

The library always strives to purchase at least the basic access level subscriptions to databases. When the library is unable to purchase the highest level access subscriptions, it relies on its interlibrary loan service (IDS) to obtain journal articles and to borrow books for you. This service is free to CHST faculty, staff and students. The following are examples of the library databases available for you. (LINK TO LIBRARY DATABASES).

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AMA Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have guide for anyone involved in medical and scientific writing and publishing.
ASM Journals This link opens in a new window
These 18 journals from the American Society for Microbiology are the most prominent publications in the field, delivering up-to-date and authoritative coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Source of reliable , current information (not full text) on the effects of interventions in health care.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
An engineering database covering chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, civil, mechanical and materials engineering.
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
JAMA Network This link opens in a new window
Searches the American Medical Association journals: JAMA, and the archives of the journals Dermatology, Facial Plastic Surgery, Family Medicine, General Psychiatry, Internal Medicine, Neurology, Ophthalmology, Otolaryngology - Head & Neck Surgery, Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine, and Surgery.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Tool for comparing and evaluating citation data from journals in the sciences and social sciences.
JoVE Biology This link opens in a new window
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window

Uptodate

Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
Articles in social science, science and technology disciplines. RIT's subscription includes these databases: Web of Science (1975-present); Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Medline, and ISI Proceedings.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window

Ebooks/Tutorials/Video examples

Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
An online learning platform with video tutorials in a number of disciplines: 3D, video, business, photography, web design, graphic design, and more. Many tutorials are captioned.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for educational films and videos including titles from PBS, the BBC, CNN, celebrated documentarians, TED Talks, National Geographic, and more. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.