ⓘ Library Under Construction

The library’s circulating books, journals, and many of its services are now located in the Ritter Ice Arena. More information.

Sign Language Poetry: Deaf Studies Archive

This guide points to resources about international sign language poetry and literature.
https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43304

Finding Aids from Deaf Studies Archive Collections

Poster of a woman seated against a dark background. The image at left is from the RIT Archive website. My responsibilities as the NTID Librarian are to help develop the The Deaf Studies Archive (DSA) , gather collections, and teach classes using the collection.

The Deaf Studies Archive (DSA) has some ASL Poetry and Sign Language collections. Finding aids to these collections are posted and linked for your review.

The RIT Archive is in the library building is open Monday-Friday from 9 am-12 pm and 1 pm-5pm. It is best to make appointments with the archivists. You can email the archivists Liz Call and/or Jody Sidlauskas for more information.

You can also use the contact page which also has their phone numbers.
Faculty, if you are interested in booking a class to review these or other items, please contact Joan Naturale, NTID Librarian at jxnwml@rit.edu or call 585-286-4635.

ASL Poetry and Literature Finding Aids

View the Lerners' Finding Aid Collection (1987-2012). This collection has items you can review such as videotapes and DVDs with lectures, interviews, and performances regarding ASL poetry. It is helpful to share what items you are interested in viewing and their locations within archives when you visit the RIT Archives.

Karen Christie donated these collections below.

The September 1987 National Deaf Poetry Conference was held at NTID. The conference featured American Sign Language poetry and included Peter Cook, Patrick Graybill, Ella Mae Lentz, Debbie Rennie, and Clayton Valli.

The October 1991 First National ASL Literature Conference was held at NTID. There are performances by Bonnie Kay Kramer, Ben Bahan, Bruce Hlibok, Simon Carmel, Michele Banks, and Lois Bragg. Also included is a Peter Cook Interview on the Hydrogen Jukebox Parts 1 and 2.

The March 1996 Second National ASL Literature conference was held at NTID.

There are a few ASL poetry and literature videos in the Robert Panara Deaf Video Collection. View the PDF which lists videos. There is also a Robert Panara Deaf Poster Collection.

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon