InfoGuides: Deaf Demographics and Employment: Scholarly Articles

Last Updated: Oct 25, 2024 3:37 PM

Finding Articles

The library has many databases that have scholarly articles. However, there are a few core journals that publish the most articles related to this topic:

Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
Journal of the American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (JADARA)
American Annals of the Deaf
Deafness & Education International,
Deaf Worlds
Sign Language Studies
Volta Review
Deaf Studies Digital Journal

You can search within the journal to retrieve articles or use the databases below. Use the A-Z Journal List to find journal print and online holdings.

Tip: Check the bibliography or references at the end of articles to find more works.You must access the databases through the library website. If you go to Google and find an article you like and it asks you to pay for it, DO NOT pay for it. It is probably in our databases or you can get the article for free through our interlibrary loan services.

Start With These Databases

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Research Library searches a diverse and respected mix of scientific journals, trade journals, and general journals covering more than 150 academic disciplines.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the premium collection.

Other Relevant Databases

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, many with links to full text.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains full text and citations to education and library science journals. Includes full text for Chronicle of Higher Education, Educational Leadership, Journal of Education, Journal of Higher Education.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Education Database gives users access to more than 760 top-of-the-line educational publications, 600 of them full-text. Covers the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for key psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Proquest Women and Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles on women and gender studies.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of journals and books published by Springer, covering the sciences, technology, computer science and medicine
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.