InfoGuides: SOIS333 Wicked Problem: Wicked Problem 2017: Clean Water

Last Updated: Jan 12, 2024 1:28 PM

The Wicked Problem topic for 2017 was Clean Water supply.

Books from the Library Collection

   Contemporary World Issues: The
   Global Water Crisis: A Reference
   Handbook by Newton, David.
   (2016).

This is an ebook available for
online reading. Click here.

There are many results on the topic of World Water Supply.

Clicking the link above will provide a dynamic list of results available via the Library.

Water

As you can imagine, there are a large number on online resources about the topic of
a clean water supply across the world.

Google Scholar will provide a large number of scholarly and academic resources. If
you find articles in Google Scholar that are not freely available in full-text, check the
RIT Library's A-Z Journal List. If the Library does not have the full-text, you can
request that the Library obtain it for you.

Image from How Stuff Works, "How Water Works"

Below are select links to resources to aid in your research.

The Clean Water Act - US Environmental Protection Agency

History of the Clean Water Act - Laws and Regulations

Summary of the Clean Water Act

Killing the Colorado

National Resource Defense Council

National Geographic: Freshwater Crisis

The Nature Conservancy: Water - Protecting Clean Water for People and Nature

PBS NewsHour: Is the world's fresh water supply running out?

UN World Water Development Report, Water and Jobs, 2016

UN World Water Development Report, Water for a Sustainable World, 2015

UN World Water Development Report, Water and Energy, 2014

Water Supply, The World Bank

Water for the World - water facts

Recommended Databases

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides country overviews including political, economic, investment, social, and environmental overviews. Note some countries like Taiwan may not have separate entries. Check the formal name of the country or the appendix of a related country. The PDFs are out of date. Do not rely on Country Review PDF if you need information after 2016.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reporting & analysis of political & social issues, with topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology & the U.S. economy.
Gale Onefile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 800 journals and 6 subject specific Delmar reference titles provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests. Provided by NovelNY. The NOVELNY program and its online resources (currently from Gale and Britannica) will cease on June 30, 2024.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Identifies scholarly and general interest articles, books, and government reports on the effects humans have on the environment.
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Anthropology, economics, political science and sociology - journal articles, books, reviews.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, selected journals, and reference books. How to search from the home page. How to do advanced searching.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
An online learning platform with video tutorials in a number of disciplines: 3D, video, business, photography, web design, graphic design, and more. Many tutorials are captioned. As of December 14, 2021, LinkedIn Learning will no longer be accessible to learners logging in from the Chinese Mainland.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of regional, national, and international newspapers.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Full text viewpoint essays and articles on current social and political issues. The NOVELNY program and its online resources (currently from Gale and Britannica) will cease on June 30, 2024.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. ScienceDirect Help
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. 1400 individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets).
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.

Detroit, MI Water Crisis

The Detroit, Michigan water system has been in the news recently with the findings of lead in the local water supply. There are many articles freely available online on this topic as well as from the library's subscription resources. Take a look!