ⓘ RIT Ready: Protect and Persevere

For the health and safety of our community, we have reconfigured library spaces, modified access to collections, and added more virtual services. More information.

Deaf Technologies: Deaf Scholarly Articles

This guide discusses some Deaf technologies that DHH people used in the past and use today.
https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43304

Finding Deaf Scholarly Articles

This Image is a white font titled Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education cover. The background is medium blue and on the left-hand side, there is a white outlined rectangular box with an image of a gold spikes logoThe library has many databases that have scholarly articles. However, there are a few core journals that publish the most articles related to Deaf issues.

Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
Journal of the American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association
(JADARA)
American Annals of the Deaf
Deafness & Education International, 
Deaf Worlds
Sign Language Studies
Volta Review
Deaf Studies Digital Journal
Odyssey: New Directions in Deaf Education

You can search within the journal to retrieve articles or use the databases below. Use the A-Z Journal List to find journal print and online holdings.

If you have a citation, try the Citation LInker to locate materials.

Tip: Check the bibliography or references at the end of articles to find more works.You must access the databases through the library website. If you go to Google and find an article you like and it asks you to pay for it, DO NOT pay for it. It is probably in our databases or you can get the article for free through our interlibrary loan services.

Finding Deaf Popular Articles

Deaf technologies articles tend to be found in popular magazines such as Deaf Life and Deaf American. Occasionally, you can find articles about Deaf Technologies in newspapers. Use the databases below to find citations to articles and then use the A-Z Journal Finder to find the magazine's location. If you are interested in Deaf Inventors, use the Gallaudet Biography Database. You can type in last name, first name or go to Inventors and browse the list of names.

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon