ⓘ RIT Ready: Protect and Persevere

For the health and safety of our community, we have reconfigured library spaces, modified access to collections, and added more virtual services. More information.

UWRT 150 Writing Seminar (Mazique): Deaf Language Issues

https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43304

Finding Encyclopedias & Books

Image of the Gallaudet Encyclopedia set.Encyclopedias are a good place to start in order to get background info, brainstorm, and find topic ideas related to Deaf Language Issues. The Gallaudet Encyclopedia (available in print and on-line) and The Sage Deaf Studies Encyclopedia have background information about sign language and deaf education.

You are focusing on two areas. The first area focuses on finding viewpoint sources such as opinion articles/editorials and pieces of visual rhetoric (cartoons, ads, bumper stickers, t-shirts, etc.) related to these topics: Language Acquisition, Deprivation, Bilingualism for Deaf Children, and the Nyle DiMarco Foundation

You will find this type of information in popular deaf magazines such as Deaf Life magazine and in social media/blogs/vlogs/websites. The Deaf Education scholarly journals also have editorial pages in which writers express an opinion. Look for the editorial column when you search inside the journal.

The second area focuses on finding informative sources regarding the larger historical, political, and cultural contexts on these topics:  Deaf History, Deaf Education Debates, Research on Language Acquisition/Deprivation/Bilingualism (General/Deaf, L1/L2). The Deaf Education scholarly journals are good sources for this type of research. There are scholarly books you can find on this topic by searching the RIT Libraries Catalog below. Try Deaf Education, Bilingual Deaf Education, and related terms as your keywords

Search the Library Catalog

After searching the RIT Libraries Catalog, if you cannot find what you need from our collection, look at the right side column and click on Connect NY. You can borrow books for free from university libraries in NY state.

Other Databases

Finding Database Articles: Start Here

Check out PBS videos.

What does MORE do for me?

Tag with the word more! in black font against a yellow background.

Check to see if we have the full text of your item whenever you see the MORE button! If a copy is not automatically found, an option to submit an order for the full text will appear! Click the button now to see what happens!

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon