InfoGuides: MGMT 550 Real World Business Solutions: Market Research &amp; Demographics

Last Updated: Nov 18, 2024 3:31 PM

RIT Library Database Use Restriction

Use of these resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.

What is available?

The resources below contain different types of market research and data.

Mintel and Passport are similar in that they both have consumer market research but they differ in that Passport covers more countries and includes lots of raw data. You will want to use both as there may be a product or market in one that is not in the other!

Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions provides demographic and lifestyle data. Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions will give data on regional markets across the United States. This data comes from Nielsen. We do not have access to all products tracked.

American Fact Finder is free from the U.S. government and is helpful for understanding basic demographics about people and businesses in the U.S.

Market Research (Business to Consumer)

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Consumer market research and analyst insights for the US primarily with limited insights coverage for other countries. NOTE: Our subscription does not permit the use or uploading of Mintel content or data into external applications, software or websites that use AI technology.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Consumer lifestyle and consumer industry market research reports for countries around the globe. Also includes downloadable economic, population, income, product and lifestyle data. DONATED: The McClure Collection given by J. Warren and Lois McClure in support of the RIT College of Business.
Richard K. Miller Marketing Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research for select topics: business to business marketing, gaming, consumer behavior, consumer marketing, consumer use of the internet, sports marketing, healthcare, retailing, leisure market, entertainment & advertising, restaurants, travel & tourism. B2C and B2B

Demographic Data

Claritas 360 This link opens in a new window
Access to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles. B2C only.

Videos From Claritas On Various Searches
MyBest Segments - Partial Free Access
Read descriptions of segments which in one place combine descriptions and narratives. We do not subscribe to MyBest Segments so you will be limited in what and how much you can view.
Claritas Info
Go to this guide to for more info on Claritas.
Statistics of Income from the IRS
The IRS releases statistics on tax returns from individuals and businesses. A great tool to get data on adjusted gross income.
Census Data
As of 7/1/19 this site replaces American Fact Finder. Watch this overview from the US Census Bureau to see the changes and how to search.
Census - Business and Economy Data
Pew Research Center
"Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."

SRDS Media Planning Platform This link opens in a new window
From Kantar Media this resource provides access to media planning data for Digital Websites, Newspapers, Consumer Magazines, Broadcast (TV/Cable and Radio).

Deaf Demographics Guide

Choosing a Claritas Report Type

Claritas 360 This link opens in a new window
Access to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles. B2C only.

Videos From Claritas On Various Searches

Use the matrix to identify the name of the report you want. It shows cross listings of variables. Then use the breadcrumb trail to locate the report in Claritas. Inside Claritas there are robust help guides to help you understand what reports contain and how to read them.

What each report type measures

	Behaviors	Demographics	Geography	Segments
Behaviors	Profile Ranking Index	no report	Market Potential	Target Segment Measure Profile Worksheet
Demographics	no report	no report	Consumer Concentration	no report
Geography	Market Potential	Consumer Concentration	no report	Target Concentration Segment Distribution
Segments	Target Segment Measure Profile Worksheet	no report	Target Concentration Segment Distribution	no report

Where to find each report type

Consumer Concentration: Reports → Standard Reports → Demographic Reports → Consumer Concentration
Market Potential: Reports → Segmentation Reports → Lifestyler Reports → Market Potential
Profile Ranking Index: Reports → Segmentation Reports → Profiler Reports → Profile Ranking Index
Profile Worksheet: Reports → Segmentation Reports → Profiler Reports → Profile Worksheet
Segment Distribution: Reports → Segmentation Reports → Market Overview Reports → Segment Distribution
Target Concentration: Reports → Segmentation Reports → Locator Reports → Target Concentration
Target Segment Measure: Reports → Segmentation Reports → Lifestyler Reports → Target Segment Measure

Author: Lara Nicosia