MGMT 550 Real World Business Solutions: News

https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?id=58a0f70c-7cdb-11ed-9922-0ad758b798c3
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2024 11:15 AM

Business News Resources (Premium Resources Purchased by RIT)

A Few Specific Business News Sources

Use these library access points to stay on top of the news.
That includes general news, politics, culture, sports, and more!

Does the library offer direct electronic access to major newspapers and magazines listed here?

We do not. Instead we offer secondary access through ProQuest, EBSCO and Nexis Uni. The available articles represent the majority, but not all, of the articles published in the print versions of the publications. Most include text only with occasional images. For full and unrestricted access or subscriber only content look at subscribing directly. Most of these publications offer student or educational discounts. That said library access does provide a majority of the content.

Many public libraries do offer temporary direct access to nyt.com and/or www.washingtonpost.com. If you live in Henrietta, NY (this is where the RIT Campus is) You can get a Henrietta Public Library card. As of January 2024 HPL offers residents remote access to both nyt.com and www.washingtonpost.com. If you live in another area check your public library to see what they offer.

NOTE: Articles available appeared in the print edition. No access to via library to articles only published on the web.

Common Questions About Access to News

Common Questions

 

Why can't I just search in one place for news?

Not every publisher or source makes their articles available to every distributor or database? To be thorough search across all the resources above. They still don't cover everything but you will be searching the major newspapers and magazines.

 

Why isn't all the news just free on the web?

Gathering information, conducting interviews, analyzing documents, writing/producing and redistributing news is a huge, labor and resource intensive business so news entities want to make sure they are getting paid for the work they have done so our database providers pay for access to news content and RIT pays for access to the databases to provide you with access to the content.

Why won't Harvard Business Review articles allow me to print or save them?

Business Source Elite/EBSCOhost and Harvard Business Review prevent printing and downloading of 500 Harvard Business Review articles. Known among libraries as the HBR 500, these rotating articles are set by the publisher to be read on-screen only. No current list of the HBR 500 is made available by the vendor or publisher but here is a list from 2013 but keep in mind some of these can now be printed and saved an many articles after 2013 have been added. You will only discover this when in an article. You can always buy digital copies from https://store.hbr.org/ when library access does not fit your needs. The articles included in the HBR 500 have changed since 2013 and it is understood inclusion reflects popularity. Articles from Harvard Business Review dating back to 1922 are available through the library's microfilm collection located on the 2nd floor. When not on campus use IDS to request copies.

Found a great article but there's no full text! What now?

Some distributors/databases are allowed to share the full text and others are only allowed to share basic info like a headline, date, author and maybe abstract.  RIT students have access to a system called Interlibrary Loan which can probably get you a copy of an article not available as full text in our databases. It's free and can be accessed here:

US Newsstream How-To Video

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon