Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ⓘ Library Under Construction

The library’s circulating books, journals, and many of its services are now located in the Ritter Ice Arena. More information.

Navigating RIT Digital Collections

How to search, browse, and use the features of RIT Digital Collections

Exploring the Collections

Browse All 

From the home page, you can browse all items across all collections within RIT Digital Collections. 

From a specific collection, you can browse all the items just within that collection. 

Screen shot of browse page of RIT Digital Collections, the explore menu is selected and arrow highlight Browse All and Browse Categories

Browse Categories

Categories in RIT Digital Collections are grouped into "What" "Where" "Who" and "When" categories. 

These categories contain multiple descriptive fields.

What 

  • Broad Type
  • Specific Type
  • Physical Format
  • Subject

Where

  • Place
  • RIT Spaces and Places

Who

  • Creator
  • Contributor
  • Publisher

When

  • Date of Original
Browse Alphanumerically

Choosing a letter or number will list all searchable fields that begin with that letter or number.

Screenshot of browse categories screen - descriptive fields for each category are listed and Browse Alphabetically is highlighted

 

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon