InfoGuides: PSYC 221 Abnormal Psychology (Whyte): Scholarly Journals (Deaf)

Finding Scholarly Articles

The image at left is a journal cover. The library has many databases that have scholarly articles. However, there are a few Deaf core journals that publish the most articles related to Deaf and Psychology topics.

Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
Journal of the American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (JADARA)
American Annals of the Deaf
Deafness & Education International,
Deaf Worlds
Sign Language Studies
Volta Review
Deaf Studies Digital Journal

Trade Magazine
Odyssey: New Directions in Deaf Education

You can search within the journal to retrieve articles or use the databases below. Use the A-Z Journal List to find journal print and online holdings.

Tip: You must access the databases through the library website. If you go to Google and find an article you like and it asks you to pay for it, DO NOT pay for it. It is probably in our databases or you can get the article for free through our interlibrary loan services.

Start With These Databases

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Research Library searches a diverse and respected mix of scientific journals, trade journals, and general journals covering more than 150 academic disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the premium collection.

NCDHR

Rochester, NY is the home of the National Center for Deaf Health Research (NCDHR) and focuses on Community-Based Participatory Research. There is a higher risk of health-related issues, including mental health and addiction among the Deaf and HH population.. Check out the extensive bibliography. You can view the publications and presentations of NCDHR. They also publish vlogs and the Healthy Signs Newsletters.

Other Relevant Databases

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE journal articles. SAGE Help
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. ScienceDirect Help
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of journals and books published by Springer, covering the sciences, technology, computer science and medicine. SpringerLink Help
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.

Deaf Health Care Links

ASL Videos for the Deaf Community to better understand research concepts:

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about DWW in ASL Vlog or Text
What is Informed Consent? in ASL Vlog or Text
I want to become a Research Volunteer in ASL Vlog or Text
What is a Randomized Controlled Trial? in ASL Vlog or Text
What is a Cognitive Interview? in ASL Vlog or Text
What is Peer Driven Recruitment? in ASL Vlog
View other Vlogs from the National Center for Deaf Health Research