InfoGuides: Deaf and World War II: General Databases

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2024 11:15 AM

Finding Resources Using Summon

The Summon search box is the orange search box located on the RIT Libraries' homepage. Summon allows you to search almost all of the library's content from a single search box similar to a Google search. A Summon search will typically deliver many results. The key to success is to utilize the filters located in the margin to the left of your Summon search results.
.
You can easily locate e-books using the refinement filters within Summon. Conduct your Summon search, refine your search to "items with full text online" and limit the content type to "Books/ebook". Your list of results will now be only e-books.

Recommended FullText Databases

These databases are good for general background about WWII, eugenics, and the Holocaust. If you expand your search to use the term disability and WWII, you will have more success, as there are few sources related to the Deaf population.

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
When you get in the database, look at the Choose Databases section above the search bar and check off the appropriate databases such as Academic Search Elite, Military & Government, e-Books, PsycINFO, ERIC, Communication and Mass Media, MAS Ultra, Newspaper Source, and others that fit your topic search.
Fortunoff Video Archive For Holocaust Testimonies This link opens in a new window
The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel. The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. Testimonies were recorded in whatever language the witness preferred, and range in length from 30 minutes to over 40 hours (recorded over several sessions). You must create an account and ask for access even though this is a free resource.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles (backfiles) of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access includes content from the primary sources collections, multidisciplinary collections, and discipline specific collections. JSTOR also features multimedia content and includes Artstor, a cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images for use in research and teaching.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the premium collection.
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
When you get in, look at the Databases tab at the top and click. Depending on the focus of your topic, check off eBook Central, Gannett Newstand, MLA International Bibliography, National Newspapers, NY Times, Proquest Dissertations, Proquest Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, ERIC, International Bibliography, LInguistics and Language, Social Science, Psychology, Research LIbrary
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE journal articles

Article Samples from Databases

Rogow, Sally M. "Child Victims in Nazi Germany." The Journal of Holocaust Education 8.3 (Winter 1999): 7187.
During the Nazi years, thousands of non Jewish German children were victims of unrelenting persecution and genocide. Children who were blind, deaf, physically disabled or mentally handicapped,orphans, juvenile delinquents and adolescent nonconformists were removed from their homes and communities, isolated in institutions and work camps and many thousands were murdered. Significant members of the medical profession found it personally and professionally profitableto engage in murder and gave it a protective veneer of respectability. In the process Europe's mostadvanced and comprehensive system of rehabilitative education was destroyed. This article, entirely based on secondary literature, provides a concise synthesis of this history for teachers.

Ryan, Donna F. "Deaf People in Hitler's Europe: Conducting Oral History Interviews With Deaf Holocaust Survivors." The Public Historian 27.2 (Apr. 2005): 4352.