InfoGuides: MGMT 759 Competitive Strategy: Market Research & Demographics

Last Updated: Dec 19, 2024 2:10 PM

RIT Library Database Use Restriction

Use of these resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.

What is available?

The resources below contain different types of market research and data.

Mintel and Passport are similar in that they both have consumer market research but they differ in that Passport covers more countries and includes lots of raw data. You will want to use both as there may be a product or market in one that is not in the other!

Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions provides demographic and lifestyle data. Claritas Segmentation and Market Solutions will give data on regional markets across the United States. This data comes from Nielsen. We do not have access to all products tracked.

American Fact Finder is free from the U.S. government and is helpful for understanding basic demographics about people and businesses in the U.S.

Market Research

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Consumer market research and analyst insights for the US primarily with limited insights coverage for other countries. NOTE: Our subscription does not permit the use or uploading of Mintel content or data into external applications, software or websites that use AI technology.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Consumer lifestyle and consumer industry market research reports for countries around the globe. Also includes downloadable economic, population, income, product and lifestyle data. DONATED: The McClure Collection given by J. Warren and Lois McClure in support of the RIT College of Business.
Richard K. Miller Marketing Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research for select topics: business to business marketing, gaming, consumer behavior, consumer marketing, consumer use of the internet, sports marketing, healthcare, retailing, leisure market, entertainment & advertising, restaurants, travel & tourism. B2C and B2B

Deaf Demographics Guide

Demographic Data

Claritas 360 This link opens in a new window
Access to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles. B2C only.

Statistics of Income from the IRS
The IRS releases statistics on tax returns from individuals and businesses. A great tool to get data on adjusted gross income.
Census Data
Population and other data about the United States gathered by the US Census Bureau. This is a gateway to tons of data. The interface appears intuitive but has some not so obvious filters. Check out the YouTube page linked right after this entry.
Census - Business and Economy Data
Pew Research Center
"Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."

SRDS Media Planning Platform This link opens in a new window
From Kantar Media this resource provides access to media planning data for Digital Websites, Newspapers, Consumer Magazines, Broadcast (TV/Cable and Radio).