MKTG 350 Consumer Behavior: Locating Scholarly Articles

https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?id=58a0f70c-7cdb-11ed-9922-0ad758b798c3
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2024 11:15 AM

Contact and Guide Address Info

This Guide's Direct Link: http://infoguides.rit.edu/mktg350

Questions: jennifer.freer@rit.edu

Use the LibCal link to see my availability and book a real time appointment with me. We can meet in-person or via Zoom. I can also answer questions via email.

Articles

Note that some article resources contain both scholarly articles and practical/trade articles. You may also run into a situation where a database identifies an item as scholarly but it has identified it wrong. If you do not know how to identify scholarly/academic articles  or practical articles take a look Module 4 in LIV@RIT  http://library.rit.edu/liv/4

Sample scholarly article

Sample practical or trade (not scholarly) article

Start with ProQuest and work your way down the list.

When we don't have immediate full-text access to an article order it from Interlibrary Loan available at https://ill.rit.edu/

Have a specific journal, newspaper or magazine you are looking for? Use the A-Z Journal Search to see if we have the full text.

Proximity & Other Searching Commands

Many article databases have advanced search commands buried in their help manuals. Here are a few advanced tips for specific products that can help make searching more effective.*


ProQuest

Proximity:

near/# OR n/#  will look for documents that contain two search terms, in any order, within a specified number of words apart. Replace # with a number. You can go up to 100 words but stay within 2-20 for better results.

PRE/# or P/# will look for documents that contain one search term that appears within a specified number of words before a second term.

Quotation Marks

Surround your words with quotation marks—to force ProQuest to look for your words as a phrase only, rather than finding each word separately.


EBSCO

Proximity:

Near Operator (N): N5 finds the words if they are a maximum of five words apart from one another, regardless of the order in which they appear.

Within Operator (W): W8 finds the words if they are within eight words of one another, in the order in which you entered them.

Quotation Marks:

When a user encloses search terms with double quotation marks (i.e. "global warming") the search engine looks for words in the exact order in any field in the metadata and full text (when applicable).


Nexis Uni

Proximity

Use the near/# connector to find documents with search words that appear within n words of each other. Use near/n to join words and phrases that express parts of a single idea or to join closely associated ideas.

Use the w/# connector to find documents in which the first word appears within n words of the second one.

Use the pre/# connector to find documents in which the first word precedes the second by not more than n words.

Question Marks


DEFINITIONS:

Proximity is a command to find words close to each other. This is helpful to find words close to each other buried in the full-text. For example if you want to find the words coffee close to the word forecast you would use a proximity command.

Boolean commands are linkage words that help you find or eliminate specific words in a title, abstract or full-text search. Common examples are AND, OR, NOT. In many academic databases use upper case Boolean commands to distinguish them as a command.

*Keep in mind product programming can change so consult help manuals within each product to confirm you are using the most up to date commands. Most databases with have a HELP or ? link at the top right when you are in the product.

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon