InfoGuides: MKTG 350 Consumer Behavior: Welcome to this Guide!

Last Updated: Nov 15, 2024 2:46 PM

Hello from Jennifer!

Hi! I am Jennifer Freer, your business librarian! I can help you navigate through the library business resources to find information, articles, and books. I can also help with citation in APA, MLA and Chicago plus I can help you use Zotero. The green button above has links to book an appointment or try to catch me on chat. Email jlfwml@rit.edu to ask questions if that works better for you!

Guide Info

This Guide's Direct Link: http://infoguides.rit.edu/mktg350

Questions: jennifer.freer@rit.edu

Use the LibCal link in the green Chat/Email/Appointments button above to see my availability and book a real time appointment with me. We can meet in-person or via Zoom.

I can also answer questions via email.

You choose the option which works best for you!

Great databases for Consumer Behavior

Passport This link opens in a new window
Look along the toolbar at top for Consumers section and click. Browse the various reports and briefings. Search in passport is not effective unless you know the title.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Consumer market research and analyst insights for the US primarily with limited insights coverage for other countries. NOTE: Our subscription does not permit the use or uploading of Mintel content or data into external applications, software or websites that use AI technology.
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
News and scholarly article database with some market research.
Claritas 360 This link opens in a new window
Access to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles. B2C only. Data only.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Use this to explore the macro view of industries making your consumer products.

NYPL Library Card Info
If you work, live or attend school physically in New York State you are entitled to a free library card from teh New York Public Library! "Yea, but I don't live in New York City so how does it help me?" NYPL gives you remote access to Statista and Business Source Complete! These can be great supplementary resources when doing projects!
NYPL Databases Available Remotely with an NYPL Card

News Access

Use these library access points to stay on top of the news.
That includes general news, politics, culture, sports, and more!

Browse Wall Street Journal by Issue Text Only
This is the best way to see from the front page to the back pages. Why is that important? The most important stories of the day are usually on the front page. And the subject specific important stories are in the next sections.
View The Wall Street Journal articles via ProQuest Text Only
Displays all articles in date order and page order. Can be harder to know what were the important stories of the day. Use Browse to gauge importance.
Dow Jones Institutional News
wsj.com is not available through the library but some of its content is added to this source. There will be a day or more delay. Some content and stories are only available on wsj.com Link updated 11/15/24
more...less...
If you want immediate access to premium items available only through wsj.com consider getting a student subscription directly

Does the library offer direct electronic access to major newspapers and magazines listed here?

We do not. Instead we offer secondary access through ProQuest, EBSCO and Nexis Uni. The available articles represent the majority, but not all, of the articles published in the print versions of the publications. Most include text only with occasional images. For full and unrestricted access or subscriber only content look at subscribing directly. Most of these publications offer student or educational discounts. That said library access does provide a majority of the content.

Many public libraries do offer temporary direct access to nyt.com and/or www.washingtonpost.com. If you live in Henrietta, NY (this is where the RIT Campus is) You can get a Henrietta Public Library card. As of January 2024 HPL offers residents remote access to both nyt.com and www.washingtonpost.com. If you live in another area check your public library to see what they offer.

Online Newspapers from Henrietta Public Library
Remote access available to residents of Henrietta NY only.
Don't live in Henrietta check your home public library to see what they offer.
As of January 2024 HPL offers direct New York Times and Washington Post access remotely for those living in Henrietta.
HPL New York Times Access
For Henrietta, NY residents which includes RIT students living here. Access is good for 24 hours and requires an NYT account which are free to create.
HPL Washington Post Access
For Henrietta, NY residents which includes RIT students living here. Access is good for 7 days and requires a WAPO account which are free to create.
Henrietta Public Library Card
Living on-campus at RIT? You can get a library card for Henrietta Public Library to check out their print & e-books, audiobooks and remote access nyt.com and washingtonpost.com for Henrietta residents only. Living elsewhere in Monroe County NYS? Check your local public library to see what newspaper access they offer online and how to get a library card. Living elsewhere altogether? Check with your public library to see what they offer access to for leisure reading and more.

Browse New York Times by Issue - Text Only
This is the best way to see from the front page to the back pages. Why is that important? The most important stories of the day are usually on the front page. And the subject specific important stories are in the next sections.
New York TImes via Proquest - Text Only
Displays all articles in date order and page order. Can be harder to know what were the important stories of the day. Use Browse to gauge importance.

Financial Times (Content is not loaded until 30 days after it is published.)
This is the best way to see from the front page to the back pages. Why is that important? The most important stories of the day are usually on the front page. And the subject specific important stories are in the next sections.

Washington Post
This is the best way to see from the front page to the back pages. Why is that important? The most important stories of the day are usually on the front page. And the subject specific important stories are in the next sections.
Washington Post (link needs to be reset 10/6/24)
Displays all articles in date order and page order. Can be harder to know what were the important stories of the day. Use Browse to gauge importance.

Browse The Economist by issue via ProQuest - PDF Available
This is the best way to see from the front page to the back pages. Why is that important? The most important stories of the day are usually on the front page. And the subject specific important stories are in the next sections.
View The Economist articles by most recent first) via ProQuest - PDF Available
Displays all articles in date order and page order. Can be harder to know what were the important stories of the day. Use Browse to gauge importance.

NOTE: Articles available appeared in the print edition. No access to via library to articles only published on the web.

Browse Harvard Business Review Issues via EBSCO - PDFs Sometimes Available
Browsing available below search fields.
Harvard Business Review in Print & Microfilm
Harvard Business Review Terms of Use

Browse BusinessWeek by Issue via EBSCO - PDF Available
This is the best way to see from the front page to the back pages. Why is that important? The most important stories of the day are usually on the front page. And the subject specific important stories are in the next sections.
View BusinessWeek articles via EBSCO- PDF Available
Displays all articles in date order and page order. Can be harder to know what were the important stories of the day. Use Browse to gauge importance.

Fall 2024 Vollmer

Using generative AI as a iteration resource.

The key to lexical or word searches is to try to come up with teh right words or phrases. But what if you do not know all the possible ways to describe or label something. Consumer behavior especially has many ways to be expressed and products or services also have multiple names.

Generative AI via Copilot, Gemini or ChatGPT can offer a thinking coach to help.

Here is a sample prompt to get suggestions for search terms about consumer behavior and scent.

I need help doing a search in the proquest database. I am looking for possible search terms to run in teh database. My topic is consumer behavior and scent. Can you make a table with all teh possible terms for consumer behavior in one column and scent in teh second column. And then at teh end make 3 sample search strings using boolean search?

Make sure to check your syllabus or with your professor to understand what is and is not allowed in ecah class.

Sample Prompt MGMT 350
Created 9/11/24 using ChatGPT 4o mini.

MKTG 350 Consumer Behavior: Welcome to this Guide!