Understanding Vineyard Soils by
The first edition of Understanding Vineyard Soils has been praised for its comprehensive coverage of soil topics relevant to viticulture. However, the industry is dynamic - new developments are occurring, especially with respect to measuring soil variability, managing soil water, possibleeffects of climate change, rootstock breeding and selection, monitoring sustainability, and improving grape quality and the "typicity" of wines. All this is embodied in an increased focus on the terroir or "sense of place" of vineyard sites, with greater emphasis being placed on wine qualityrelative to quantity in an increasingly competitive world market. The promotion of organic and biodynamic practices has raised a general awareness of "soil health", which is often associated with a soil's biology, but which to be properly assessed must be focused on a soil's physical, chemical, andbiological properties. This edition of White's influential book presents the latest updates on these and other developments in soil management in vineyards.With a minimum of scientific jargon, Understanding Vineyard Soils explains the interaction between soils on a variety of parent materials around the world and grapevine growth and wine typicity. The essential chemical and physical processes involving nutrients, water, oxygen and carbon dioxide,moderated by the activities of soil organisms, are discussed. Methods are proposed for alleviating adverse conditions such as soil acidity, sodicity, compaction, poor drainage, and salinity. The pros and cons of organic viticulture are debated, as are the possible effects of climate change. Theauthor explains how sustainable wine production requires winegrowers to take care of the soil and minimize their impact on the environment. This book is a practical guide for winegrowers and the lay reader who is seeking general information about soils, but who may also wish to pursue in more depththe influence of different soil types on vine performance and wine character.
Grapevine Viruses: Molecular Biology, Diagnostics and Management by 
The Geography of Wine by
Wine has been described as a window into places, cultures and times. Geographers have studied wine since the time of the early Greeks and Romans, when viticulturalists realized that the same grape grown in different geographic regions produced wine with differing olfactory and taste characteristics. This book, based on research presented to the Wine Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers, shows just how far the relationship has come since the time of Bacchus and Dionysus. Geographers have technical input into the wine industry, with exciting new research tackling subjects such as the impact of climate change on grape production, to the use of remote sensing and Geographical Information Systems for improving the quality of crops. This book explores the interdisciplinary connections and science behind world viticulture. Chapters cover a wide range of topics from the way in which landforms and soil affect wine production, to the climatic aberration of the Niagara wine industry, to the social and structural challenges in reshaping the South African wine industry after the fall of apartheid. The fundamentals are detailed too, with a comparative analysis of Bordeaux and Burgundy, and chapters on the geography of wine and the meaning of the term 'terroir'.
Vines, Grapes and Wines by
Shows how the key to the appreciation, understanding and enjoyment of every wine we drink is in the grape variety the wine is made from.
Wine Science by
Wine Science, Fourth Edition, covers the three pillars of wine science: grape culture, wine production, and sensory evaluation. It discusses grape anatomy, physiology and evolution, wine geography, wine and health, and the scientific basis of food and wine combinations. It also covers topics not found in other enology or viticulture texts, including details on cork and oak, specialized wine making procedures, and historical origins of procedures. New to this edition are expanded coverage on micro-oxidation and the cool prefermentative maceration of red grapes; the nature of the weak fixation of aromatic compounds in wine - and the significance of their release upon bottle opening; new insights into flavor modification post bottle; the shelf-life of wine as part of wine aging; and winery wastewater management. Updated topics include precision viticulture, including GPS potentialities, organic matter in soil, grapevine pests and disease, and the history of wine production technology. This book is a valuable resource for grape growers, fermentation technologists; students of enology and viticulture, enologists, and viticulturalists. New to this edition: Expanded coverage of micro-oxidation and the cool prefermentative maceration of red grapes The nature of the weak fixation of aromatic compounds in wine - and the significance of their release upon bottle opening New insights into flavor modification post bottle Shelf-life of wine as part of wine aging Winery wastewater management Updated topics including: Precision viticulture, including GPS potentialities Organic matter in soil Grapevine pests and disease History of wine production technology
Encyclopedia of Research Design by
These three volumes explain the process of decision-making about research design, interpreting data and drawing valid inferences, undertakes research projects in an ethical manner, and evaluating experimental design strategies and results.
Sensors and Measurement Systems by
Sensors and measurement systems is an introduction to microsensors for engineering students in the final undergraduate or early graduate level, technicians who wants to know more about the systems they are using, and anybody curious enough to know what microsystems and microsensors can do. The book discusses five families of sensors: - Thermal sensors - Force and pressure sensors- Inertial sensors - Magnetic field sensors- Flow sensorsFor each sensor, theoretical, technology and application aspects are examined. The sensor function is modelled to understand sensitivity, resolution and noise. We ask ourselves: What do we want to measure? What are possible applications? How are the sensor chips made in the cleanroom? How are they mounted and integrated in a system?After reading this book, you should be able to:- Understand important thermal, mechanical, inertial and magnetic sensors- Work with characterization parameters for sensors- Choose sensors for a given application and apply them- Understand micromachining technologies for sensors
Encyclopedia of Biometrics by 
Encyclopedia of Color Science and Technology by 
Polymetric Materials Encyclopedia by 
Concise Encyclopedia of High Performance Silicones by
The encyclopedia will be an invaluable source of information for researchers and students from diverse backgrounds including physics, chemistry, materials science and surface engineering, biotechnology, pharmacy, medical science, and biomedical engineering.
Encyclopedia of Remote Sensing by 
Colour Reproduction in Electronic Imaging Systems by 
Materials That Change Color by Encyclopedia of Remote Sensing by 
Geostatistical and Geospatial Approaches for the Characterization of Natural Resources in the Environment by Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty
and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.
