InfoGuides: Accounting: Article Databases

Last Updated: Sep 23, 2024 10:57 AM

RIT Library Database Use Restriction

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan IDS (We do not have it so we try to get it!)
Use this service to order books and articles we do not have in the immediate collection. Free service that can take a day or two for articles and a week or more for books so plan and research ahead! For business research this comes in handy for journal articles that are embargoed or delayed from redistribution into databases like ProQuest and Ebsco. ILL helps get the latest articles when not immediately available in databases.

Articles

All of the article databases below contain articles on or related to accounting in addition to other subjects.

Note that some resources (such as ProQuest and Business Source Elite) contain both academic/scholarly articles along with other types of articles such as practical/trade articles. Practical/trade articles are the types of items a practitioner would read to stay up to date on practices, trends or players in an industry or function. You may run into a situation where a database identifies an item as academic/scholarly but it has identified it wrong and it is actually a practical/trade, newspaper or other type of non-academic/scholarly article.

It is important to understand what type of item you are reading. If you do not know how to identify scholarly/academic articles or practical articles take at this slideshow:

Start with ProQuest and work your way down the database list. Watch the tutorial linked below to understand how to use ProQuest effectively.

ProQuest Search for News Tutorial (from Marketing video)
Short demo of how to effectively search ProQuest.

Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
All-in-one database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
This database brings together global scholarly journals with other key resources for access to reliable information in this continuously evolving area of study. Locate precise results from sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
Articles on business and management subjects from academic journals, trade publications and daily newspapers. Also includes Company Profiles.

New York TImes via Proquest
Latest available articles from the newspaper edition published each day. Will not include all content a personal subscription contains.
The Wall Street Journal via ProQuest
Latest available articles from the newspaper edition published each day. Will not include all content a personal subscription contains.

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE journal articles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of journals and books published by Springer, covering the sciences, technology, computer science and medicine
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.