InfoGuides: Physician Assistant (PA): Reseach Methods Tips

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2024 11:15 AM

Research Methods Topics 2020

Some of you will not find specific systematic reviews on your topic in the Cochrane database.
So the next step would be to search the Pubmed database https ://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ or the PMC database https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/ using keywords with the systematic reviews, meta-analysis filters
I went through the list of 33 topics and grouped them into the following categories and tested keywords in different databases and have left messages for some of you below:
1. Exercise / Sports
2. Nutrition/Diet -Vitamin D, Keto ,
3. Technology/methods/procedures
4. music
5. sex education
6. drugs

I have listed the Springer, Elsevier Science Direct, SAGE, NLM Drug information portal , individual electronic journals and other databases as good sources to search.

For #14 (Sami) Use the MDMA synonym ecstasy with PTSD

Use the drug name or synonym listed in Pubmed's MeSH database for search results.

#9 (Pritts) The Sage, Elsevier and Springer databases have articles about music therapy. Cochrane has music intervention articles that may interest you as comparisons : Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Music‐based therapeutic interventions for people with dementia

Cochrane Systematic Review - Intervention Version published: 23 July 2018 https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD003477.pub4

#25(Ferrara) PMC and Pubmed are good sources for fecal microbiota transplant IBD systematic review meta analysis

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Use the simpler search box located at the top left of the screen. See image provided below.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.

PMC (PubMed Central)
NLM Drug Information Portal
Has links to journal articles once you search with a drug name
PUBCHEM
PubChem is a part of the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), a division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Since 2004, PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others. The data in PubChem comes from e.g.: government agencies, chemical vendors, journal publishers, and more.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of journals and books published by Springer, covering the sciences, technology, computer science and medicine. SpringerLink Help
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. ScienceDirect Help
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE journal articles. SAGE Help
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
All-in-1 database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs. Basic Search Demo and Advanced Search Demo. The advanced video is from 2015 but the concepts still apply.

Medicine and science in sports and exercise
1996 to Present in Journals@Ovid Ovid Full Text 1 simultaneous user at a time. 15 minutes timeout. PLEASE FULLY LOG OUT WHEN FINISHED.
Knee Surgery, Sports Traumatology, Arthroscopy
https://link.springer.com/journal/volumesAndIssues/167
"Sports Medicine"
46 "Sports Medicine" journals

Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Covers health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This scholarly collection provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.