InfoGuides: BIOL 265 Evolutionary Biology: 3.Class Activity

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2024 11:15 AM

What was going on in 1660's, 1960's, and now ?

When Class Activity

When browsing through older journal issues as far back as in the 1660's:
What type of science related events or things are being written?
How would you describe their way of speaking? writing? form of communication in the 1660's?
What is your first impression of the type of science related articles back in 1660?
Do you believe or have doubts about some of their science news? give examples?
Compare the format of a journal article published in 1660's to a journal article published in 1960.

Pre 1970 and Post 1970 research activity

What keywords will you use to search in in an older pre-1970 journal articles?
Will you use the scientific name or common name or both?
Will you do a specific word combination search or start with a broad keyword search?

Examples sorted by oldest dates
1665 Example
Journal Article
Monsieur Leewenhoecks Letter to the Publisher, Wherein Some Account is Given of the Manner of His Observing So Great a Number of Little Animals in Divers Sorts of Water, as was Deliver'd in the Next Foregoing Tract: English'd out of Dutch
Monsieur Leewenhoecks
Philosophical Transactions (1665-1678), Vol. 12 (1677 - 1678), pp. 844-846
1875 example
Keywords: Explorers creatures
Description of the Living and Extinct Races of Gigantic Land-Tortoises.--Parts I. & II. Introduction, and the Tortoises of the Galapagos Islands
Albert Gunther
Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, Vol. 165 (1875), pp. 251-284
Mentimeter: feedback responses from class
Go to menti.com
Type in the acccess code 3645 0406
and enter your feedback

code expires in 14 days.

Search tools: Summon, GoogleScholar, Library databases/journals or AI types or Research Rabbit

Literature Review & Mapping Tools
https://infoguides.rit.edu/scholarlybusiness/litrevmapping
Googlescholar pre 1970 examples
Go to Advanced Search
Keywords : rediscovered extinct species
Date: 1600-1969

pre1970 Lit research activity: What to notice - the evolution of publishing and biology

Philosophical Transactions 1665 Oldest Journal (English speaking community)
The library has a subscription to one of the oldest journal title started in 1665 for the English speaking scholars at that time.
History of the Royal Society
Our origins lie in a 1660 ‘invisible college’ of natural philosophers and physicians. Today we are the UK’s national science academy and a Fellowship of some 1,600 of the world’s most eminent scientists.
-The very first ‘learned society’ meeting on 28 November 1660 followed a lecture at Gresham College by Christopher Wren. Joined by other leading polymaths including Robert Boyle and John Wilkins, the group soon received royal approval, and from 1663 it would be known as 'The Royal Society of London for Improving Natural Knowledge'.We published Isaac Newton’s Principia Mathematica, and Benjamin Franklin’s kite experiment demonstrating the electrical nature of lightning. We backed James Cook’s journey to Tahiti, reaching Australia and New Zealand, to track the Transit of Venus. We published the first report in English of inoculation against disease, approved Charles Babbage’s Difference Engine, documented the eruption of Krakatoa and published Chadwick’s detection of the neutron that would lead to the unleashing of the atom.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences(PNAS)
1915 to present
For search topics take a look at the special features section at https://www.pnas.org/about/special-features/continued
Journal of Animal Behavior
Jan 1911 - Feb 1911 - Nov 1916 - Dec 1916
Evolution
02/01/1996 to Present in Oxford University Press Journals
03/01/1947 to 3 years ago in JSTOR Life Sciences

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles (backfiles) of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access includes content from the primary sources collections, multidisciplinary collections, and discipline specific collections. JSTOR also features multimedia content and includes Artstor, a cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images for use in research and teaching.