InfoGuides: Entrepreneurship (MGMT): Demographics Data

Last Updated: Nov 18, 2024 3:31 PM

Scope of Demographics Data Presented Here

The bulk of the resources below are for consumer demographics. For business demographics try The Census Data link below. The US census tracks some business information. Other government agencies do as well along with many private sources we will not have access to. Try Google and ProQuest news searches to discover which entities might track business statistics. You can also meet with the business librarian for strategies.

Demographic Databases

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Consumer market research and analyst insights for the US primarily with limited insights coverage for other countries. NOTE: Our subscription does not permit the use or uploading of Mintel content or data into external applications, software or websites that use AI technology.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Consumer lifestyle and consumer industry market research reports for countries around the globe. Also includes downloadable economic, population, income, product and lifestyle data. DONATED: The McClure Collection given by J. Warren and Lois McClure in support of the RIT College of Business.
Claritas 360 This link opens in a new window
Access to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles. B2C only. See info below to understand what to look for.

Decision Matrix and Breadcrumb Trail for Claritas
Use this to choose which report is right for your need and to locate which section of the database it resides.

Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
This is an article database to search for news about demographics, products, services and consumers. There is some economic data in here too.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Information on companies, executives, industries, stocks, bonds, funds, dividends, and S&P investment advice. Great source for Industry Surveys for large public industries. B2C and B2B

Deaf Demographics Guide
Cost of Living Index
US data only. Metro areas by a composite, grocery, housing, utilities, transportation, health care and misc goods services.
Census Data
Population and other data about the United States gathered by the US Census Bureau. This is a gateway to tons of data. The interface appears intuitive but has some not so obvious filters. Check out the YouTube page linked right after this entry.
data.census.gov Tutorials on YouTube Playlist
Video tutorials to learn how to use data.cenuss.gov
CDC Statistics
Free US government resource for data related to medical issues.

Choosing a Claritas Report Type

Claritas 360 This link opens in a new window
Access to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles. B2C only.

Videos From Claritas On Various Searches

Use the matrix to identify the name of the report you want. It shows cross listings of variables. Then use the breadcrumb trail to locate the report in Claritas. Inside Claritas there are robust help guides to help you understand what reports contain and how to read them.

What each report type measures

	Behaviors	Demographics	Geography	Segments
Behaviors	Profile Ranking Index	no report	Market Potential	Target Segment Measure Profile Worksheet
Demographics	no report	no report	Consumer Concentration	no report
Geography	Market Potential	Consumer Concentration	no report	Target Concentration Segment Distribution
Segments	Target Segment Measure Profile Worksheet	no report	Target Concentration Segment Distribution	no report

Where to find each report type

Consumer Concentration: Reports → Standard Reports → Demographic Reports → Consumer Concentration
Market Potential: Reports → Segmentation Reports → Lifestyler Reports → Market Potential
Profile Ranking Index: Reports → Segmentation Reports → Profiler Reports → Profile Ranking Index
Profile Worksheet: Reports → Segmentation Reports → Profiler Reports → Profile Worksheet
Segment Distribution: Reports → Segmentation Reports → Market Overview Reports → Segment Distribution
Target Concentration: Reports → Segmentation Reports → Locator Reports → Target Concentration
Target Segment Measure: Reports → Segmentation Reports → Lifestyler Reports → Target Segment Measure

Author: Lara Nicosia

Industry & Marketing Resources

Deeper Consumer Information

Consumer Segments help a marketer understand who your current and potential customers are. Claritas sells access to large datasets that assist with the analysis of consumer demographics, economics, psychographics.

Claritas 360 This link opens in a new window
Access to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles. B2C only.

PRIZM Segments Example (RIT Google Login Required)
Segment Distribution report from Claritas. Also include links to Segment Descriptions and Narratives. To view requires using your RIT Google account. How to read Segment Distribution report here
MyBest Segments - Partial Free Access
Read descriptions of segments which in one place combine descriptions and narratives. We do not subscribe to MyBest Segments so you will be limited in what and how much you can view.
Claritas PRIZM® Premier Segment Descriptions
Two - three sentences descriptions of PRIZM segments.
Claritas Prizm Premier Segment Narratives 2018
Provides deeper descriptions of the 68 segments. Segments fall into 11 LifeStage Groups and 14 Social Groups. This 40+ page document will help you further understand these breakouts.

Decision Matrix and Breadcrumb Trail for Claritas
Use this to choose which report is right for your need and to locate which section of the database it resides.