There are several reasons you may want to use print and e-encyclopedias, handbooks, or dictionaries---You may need background information about a topic, or you are looking for ideas to do a paper or presentation. You can find ethics encyclopedias in a variety of fields. Some are listed below. When you look for an encyclopedia, type in the keywords (encyclopedia OR handbook) AND ethics AND (specific area-business, medical, etc).
You may check out print encyclopedias and handbooks for 6 weeks with your ID card. Some of our print books are off-site. You can still access these books with these steps. You will get an email within 1-2 days that it is available for pick-up at the library. Here is a video showing you how to request the item.
1. Click on the "request" tab above the search bar and click on request "RIT copy"
2. Fill in your email user name and password
3. Request your book and click submit
Bioethics
Key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others.
Encyclopedia of Business and Professional Ethics
The encyclopedia draws on three interdisciplinary and over-lapping fields: business ethics, professional ethics and applied ethics although the main focus is on business ethics.
Encyclopedia of Group Processes and Intergroup Relations
Over the past 75 years there has been a tremendous amount of theoretical and empirical research on group processes and intergroup relations by scholars in various disciplines. The Encyclopedia of Group Processes and Intergroup Relations is a reflection of the growing integration of what were formerly two distinct approaches. With approximately 300 entries, the two volumes of this encyclopedia cover concepts ranging from conformity to diversity and from small group interaction to intergroup relations on a global scale.Key FeaturesExamines the major criteria used by researchers to define groupsConveys what behavioral scientists know and theorize about how people think, feel, and act when responding to ingroup and outgroup membersDiscusses perspectives on what happens within groups and between groupsKey ThemesCognitions and FeelingsConflict and Cooperation Within GroupsGroup Decision MakingGroup Performance and Problem SolvingGroup StructureIdentity and SelfInfluence and PersuasionIntergroup Relations in SocietyMethodologyOrganizationsTheoryTypes of Groups and Subgroups
Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security
A comprehensive reference source on ethical and security issues relating to the latest technologies, this book covers a range of themes, including topics such as computer crime, information warfare, privacy, surveillance, intellectual property and education. It is a useful tool for students, academics, and professionals.
The Handbook of Communication Ethics
The Handbook of Communication Ethics serves as a comprehensive guide to the study of communication and ethics. It brings together analyses and applications based on recognized ethical theories as well as those outside the traditional domain of ethics but which engage important questions of power, equality, and justice. The work herein encourages readers to make important connections between matters of social justice and ethical theory. This volume makes an unparalleled contribution to the literature of communication studies, through consolidating knowledge about the multiple relationships between communication and ethics; by systematically treating areas of application; and by introducing explicit and implicit examinations of communication ethics to one another. The Handbook takes an international approach, analyzing diverse cultural contexts and comparative assessments. The chapters in this volume cover a wide range of theoretical perspectives on communication and ethics, including feminist, postmodern and postcolonial; engage with communication contexts such as interpersonal and small group communication, journalism, new media, visual communication, public relations, and marketing; and explore contemporary issues such as democracy, religion, secularism, the environment, trade, law, and economics. The chapters also consider the dialectical tensions between theory and practice; academic and popular discourses; universalism and particularism; the global and the local; and rationality and emotion. An invaluable resource for scholars in communication and related disciplines, the Handbook also serves as a main point of reference in graduate and upper-division undergraduate courses in communication and ethics. It stands as an exceptionally comprehensive resource for the study of communication and ethics. nbsp;
Handbook of Gender and Work
SAGE Author, Gary Powell chimes in on the newsworthy topic "Battle of the Bosses: Male vs. Female." Click here to see him as featured on NBC Connecticut and share your comments, and click here to see Gary weigh in on "Do Women Make Better Bosses" in the New York Times.The Handbook of Gender and Work provides a comprehensive overview and synthesis of the literature and knowledge about gender and work. It equips the reader with a solid understanding of where we stand on gender and work issues and what the next directions for research and assessment will be. Under the skilled leadership of editor Gary N. Powell, an outstanding group of multidisciplinary and international researchers and scholars deliver their summary and analysis of current research and their views on how gender and work intersect along a variety of societal, economic, interpersonal, and organizational paradigms. Topics include: * Gender gap in earnings * Sex segregation of occupations * Romantic relationships in organizational settings * Stress and work * Affirmative action * Sexual harassment * Mentoring * Women as leaders * The glass ceiling * Women entrepreneurs * Corporate masculinity * Gender and ethnicity * Gender bias in hiring and evaluating The Handbook of Gender and Work will be an invaluable resource for students, scholars, and professionals interested in increasing their understanding of gender-related phenomena that occur in the workplace. Anyone seeking guidance for dealing with specific situations that arise as a result of the influence of gender, or in identifying useful directions for future, will want to own a copy of this Handbook!
The SAGE Deaf Studies Encyclopedia
The time has come for a new in-depth encyclopedic collection of entries defining the current state of Deaf Studies at an international level using critical and intersectional lenses encompassing the field. The emergence of Deaf Studies programs at colleges and universities and the broadened knowledge of social sciences (including but not limited to Deaf History, Deaf Culture, Signed Languages, Deaf Bilingual Education, Deaf Art, and more) have served to expand the activities of research, teaching, analysis, and curriculum development. The field has experienced a major shift due to increasing awareness of Deaf Studies research since the mid-1960s. The field has been further influenced by the Deaf community's movement, resistance, activism and politics worldwide, as well as the impact of technological advances, such as in communications, with cell phones, computers, and other devices. This new Encyclopedia shifts focus away from the medical model that has view deaf individuals as needing to be remedied in order to correct so-called hearing and speaking deficiencies for the sole purpose of assimilation into mainstream society. The members of deaf communities are part of a distinct cultural and linguistic group with a unique, vibrant community, and way of being. As precedence, The SAGE Deaf Studies Encyclopedia carves out a new and critical perspective that breathes meaning into organic deaf experiences through a new critical theory lens. Such a focus is novel in that it comes from deaf and hearing allies of the communities where historically, institutions of medicine and disability ride roughshod over authentic experiences.
Encyclopedia of Science Technology and Ethics
Considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in education
Leadership for Environmental Sustainability
As the first book in the field of leadership studies to approach sustainability as a multi-faceted leadership challenge, Leadership for Environmental Sustainability will help to set the terms of the discussion on this topic among students, scholars, and practitioners of leadership for years to come. It explores the connection between leadership and sustainability from a variety of disciplinary perspectives, including sociology, history, psychology, business, literature, communication, and the arts. With short chapters edited for readability, the book is aimed at scholars, practitioners, students, and educated lay readers interested in cutting-edge research and thinking on this topic.
Leadership in Nonprofit Organizations
Leadership in Nonprofit Organizations is about exemplary leadership as found in both corporate and nonprofit organizations. Taking a fresh approach to the study of leadership, the authors perform research in nonprofits both to understand and appreciate their complexities and to reach conclusions about the nature of leadership in any context, including for-profit and governmental entities. Features and Benefits: Case studies of nonprofit leadership that affirm public-minded, mission-driven leaders and acknowledge their contributions Critical review of literature on leadership that encourages diversity in leadership models and approaches Chapters on leadership constructs such as fit, dynamics, readiness and flow that provide useful insights and methods to enable success Overarching concept of alignment that reframes leadership as an active process where the awareness of and response to the interplay of multiple, relevant factors matters more than charisma, pedigree or powerLeadership in Nonprofit Organizations is an ideal core text for graduate courses in nonprofit leadership. It could be used as a supplementary text in graduate courses in organization development and leadership, as well as courses in community development, human ecology, and human services. In addtion, practitioners, managers, and nonprofit organizational stakeholders will find it of great interest.
Political and Civic Leadership
This work within The SAGE Reference Series on Leadership provides undergraduate students with an authoritative reference resource on political and civic leadership. This 2-volume set focuses on the 100 most important topics, issues, question, and debates specific to politics and civic society. Entries provide students with more detailed information and depth of discussion than typically found in an encyclopedia entry while avoiding much of the jargon, detail and density one might find in a journal article or a research handbook chapter.Key FeaturesIncludes entries written by a global panel of renowned experts Offers broad coverage of important, of-the-moment topics related to political and civic leadership, including explorations of the personalities and environments of political leaders, leadership roles in governance and allegiance, citizen activists and civic engagement, political campaigning, urban politics and leadership, public management, ethics in politics, policy development and implementation, executive management of public opinion, political speechmaking and the "bully pulpit," congressional leadership, crisis management, and more Considers the history of political and civic leadership, with examples from the lives of pivotal figures, as well as the institutional settings and processes that lead to both opportunities and constraints unique to the political realm Provides students with more depth than usual encyclopedic entries while avoiding the jargon, detail, and density of more advanced works Features an approachable and clear writing style with appeal to undergraduate researchers and offers a list of further readings after each entry, as well as a detailed index and an online version of the work to maximize accessibility for today's students
Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty
and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.
