Make Your Point!Make Your Point opens the world of formal debate to the English learner. Debate fundamentals are taught from the first chapter in a student-centred format suitable for large and small classes alike. Each of the ten chapters offers a 'language focus' and a 'debate focus'. As students learn new debate skills, they also build important language skills. All task chains integrate speaking, listening, reading and writing activities. Included is a CD for all practice conversations.
I'm Right and You're an Idiot - 2nd EditionBecome a more effective and powerful communicator in today's highly polarized and polluted public square The most pressing problem we face today is not climate change. It is pollution in the public square, where a toxic smog of adversarial rhetoric, propaganda, and polarization stifles discussion and debate, creating resistance to change and thwarting our ability to solve our collective problems. In this second edition of I'm Right and You're an Idiot, James Hoggan grapples with this critical issue, through interviews with outstanding thinkers and drawing on wisdom from highly regarded public figures. Featuring a new, radically revised prologue, afterword, and a new chapter addressing the changes in the public discourse since the 2016 United States election, his comprehensive analysis explores: How political will is manipulated How tribalism shuts down open-minded thinking, undermines trust, and helps misinformation thrive Why facts alone fail and how language is manipulated and dissent silenced The importance of dialogue, empathy, and pluralistic narrative reframing arguments to create compelling narratives and spur action. Our species' greatest survival strategy has always been foresight and the ability to leverage intelligence to overcome adversity. For too long now this capacity has been threatened by the sorry state of public discourse. Focusing on proven techniques to foster more powerful and effective communication, I'm Right and You're an Idiot will appeal to readers looking for deep insights and practical advice in these troubling times.
The Debatabase BookAn invaluable resource for debaters, this book provides background, arguments and resources on over 110 debate topics in areas as diverse as business, science and technology, environment, politics, religion, culture and education.
Speaking, Listening and UnderstandingGary Rybold debated his first round in 1965. Since 1993, when he started coaching at Irvine Valley College in California, his teams have placed first or second in national rankings 17 times. In 2003, he conducted the first IDEA debate training in China. Neill Harvey-Smith is a communication consultant with Garnett Simpson. He is a former Chief of the World Debating Council, and author of The Practical Guide to Debating.
Winning DebatesThe format of debating used at the World Universities Debating Championships (also known as British Parliamentary or Worlds-style debating) is the international standard for academic debating. Winning Debates is both an introduction to the format and an advanced consideration of strategies and tactics proven to be effective techniques for successful debating. The text combines a review of the basics of argument theory with an application of those theories to the four-team style of debate. Also addressed are the special strategic and tactical considerations for debates in the Worlds style. Chapters include: On Winning, Arguments Argumentation, Stasis and Structure, Basic Strategy and Tactics. The Speakers and their Speeches, Decision Making and Strategy, Paradoxes of Debate, Advanced Tactics, Adjudicating Debates.
Many SidesThis book is an all-in-one introduction to both the theory and practice of democracy, aimed at upper level high school and university students and civic-minded adults in both old and new democracies. Portions of the book are from the Democracy is a Discussion handbooks.
Policy DebateIn Policy Debate: A Guide for High School and College Debaters, Shawn F. Briscoe introduces educators, coaches, and students at the high school and college levels to the concepts at the foundation of policy debate, also known as cross-examination debate, and uses conceptual analysis and real-world examples to help students engage in competitive debates and deploy winning strategies. Briscoe addresses all aspects of policy debate, including stock issues, judging paradigms and effective engagement with judges, the responsibilities of both affirmative and negative teams, and the evaluation of policy proposals through the use of disadvantages, counterplans, and critical argumentation. In addition, Briscoe helps debaters better establish their credibility, improve their cross-examination skills, and understand the specialized notetaking method called flowing. The book models for readers how to effectively cross-examine an opposing team, features a transcript of a mock debate designed to help clarify the lessons taught in previous chapters, and includes a glossary of key terms. Briscoe also considers contemporary trends in the debate community, exploring the evolution of policy debate and the rise of performance-based approaches, while providing insight into how best to engage with performance teams. Offering a unique approach presented by a seasoned debate coach, Policy Debate: A Guide for High School and College Debaters goes beyond the basics to explore how policy is an ever-evolving form of debate. This attention to the progression of policy styles will make readers better at adapting to opponents during a debate and will make them more adept at arguing against a wider range of cases.
Finding Your VoiceFinding Your Voice: A Comprehensive Guide to Collegiate Policy Debate provides an in-depth introduction for students entering Collegiateor National High School Circuit Policy Debate.
The Debater's Guide, Fourth EditionTens of thousands of readers have studied and applied this practical guide to instruction in argumentation and communication since it was first published in 1961. In this fourth edition-the Fiftieth Anniversary Edition-authors Jon M. Ericson, James J. Murphy, and Raymond Bud Zeuschner have made significant revisions to improve the depth, flow, and clarity of this popular debater's handbook. With straightforward explanations and specific applications geared toward contemporary debate practice, this compact volume offers students and teachers clear-cut assistance in resolving the key problem faced by debaters: the need to present arguments forcefully and cogently while reacting effectively to criticism. Beginning with a candid explanation of the basic principles of debate, The Debater's Guide then introduces the steps to building a case, from reviewing strategies for refutation and defense to engaging in cross-examination, solid research, and critical thinking. It advises readers on a wide range of important topics, from budgeting time in a debate to speaking in outline form by using a well-organized series of explanations, specific examples, and graphic presentations related to both policy and value issues. The authors apply these concepts to a variety of formats and situations commonly found in high school and collegiate debating. Avoiding jargon and complex theory discussions, The Debater's Guide offers sound advice on presenting an effective case in oral discourse, helps students build their understanding of how and why debate functions, and provides a solid foundation for success in any format. The expanded contents pages and new subheadings allow for quick reference to any particular aspect of debate, making this new edition an excellent choice for classroom use as well as a valuable hands-on tool during debates.
Code of the DebaterProvides a practical introduction to policy debate for beginners and a quick reference for expeienced debaters. Sections present background on policy debate and debate tournaments; the basics of policy debate, including how to present and attack cases, deal with stock issues and disadvantages, and develop counterplans; and the role and responsibilities of each debater. Code of the Debater also helps debaters develop important skills: speaking, cross-examining, flowing, organizing; analyzing evidence, and briefing. Each section includes exercises to help users put abstract ideas into practice.
On That PointThe first parlimentary debate textbook for secondary school students, offering a theoretical and practical foundation for effective participation in parliamentary debate in competition or in the classroom. Provides comprehensive instruction, a review of argument construction and extension, case development, refutation of argument claims and evidence, and persuasive speaking.Includes sample arguments, debate tactics, and practice exercises of value to both novice and experienced debaters. Suitable as a public speaking guide.