The Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan provides background and extensive information about Japan's history and culture. There is an Encyclopedia of Modern Asia with a section on Japan. Another encyclopedia is the Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture: Asia and Pacific Oceania. Check out this online encyclopedia and look for Japan Encyclopedia of World Cultures.
Encyclopedias you can check out are The Encyclopedia of Japanese Pop Culture and World War II in the Pacific. You can explore the Oxford Analytica Country Profiles-Search for Japan.
There are some Japan Guidebooks on this page to give you an overview of the Japanese culture. Check out Japan-Land, People. and Culture Series.
If you already have a citation, use the Citation LInker to find the book or articles.
Tip: Use the bibliography at the end of the book chapters or encyclopedia articles to find more works.Use keywords using the RIT Libraries Catalog below.
Check out these ebook databases for more titles related to your topic.
Many books are available in the library but sometimes you will identify books we have not bought. Use Information Delivery Service (IDS) to order books or book chapters. This is a free service.
If we do not have the book in our Collection or the ConnectNY Collection, order it from IDS.
IDS requests usually take 3-5 business days. When the item arrives you will receive an email. If it is an entire book it will be available for check-out at the Circulation Desk. If it is a book chapter it will usually be delivered as a PDF into your IDS account.
Introduction to Japanese CultureUse of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty
and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.
