InfoGuides: NDLS 280 International Studies Seminar (Japan): World War II

Last Updated: Mar 20, 2024 12:23 PM

Finding Books on WW II and Japan

Check out the encyclopedia World War II in the Pacific. If interested in deaf connections, check out the website Deaf People & WW II. There is a book called The Deaf and the Atomic Bomb with stories from Japanese deaf victims. This is online in the website and also available via print.

Pearl Harbor (1941) Link is subject search for Pearl Harbor Hawaii Attack on 1941
Hiroshima (1945) Link is subject search for Hiroshima Shi Japan History Bombardment 1945
Nagasaki (1945) Link is subject search for Nagasaki Shi Japan History Bombardment 1945
Surrender Link is subject search for World War 1939-1945 -- Japan

Use the RIT Libraries Catalog and search using keywords or subject.

Book Title Examples

Recommended Article Databases

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles (backfiles) of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access includes content from the primary sources collections, multidisciplinary collections, and discipline specific collections. JSTOR also features multimedia content and includes Artstor, a cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images for use in research and teaching.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the premium collection.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Research Library searches a diverse and respected mix of scientific journals, trade journals, and general journals covering more than 150 academic disciplines.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) is an online interface that provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents, Internet resources and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases.
New York Times (1851-present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.