InfoGuides: PHYA -530 Research Methods: Library Databases

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2024 11:15 AM

Depending on your topic u can begin with a narrow database search or vice versa broad search in other databases with filters.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
First stop to see if your topic was reviewed by Cochrane. Topics still being considered for review by Cochrane can be found under Protocols tab in the search results.
If not continue your search in Pubmed and other databases

Cochrane has the largest collecton of RCTs
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. Most CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly PubMed and Embase), but records are also derived from other published and unpublished sources, including CINAHL, ClinicalTrials.gov and the WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform. CENTRAL first began publication in 1996, but its composite nature means that it does not have an inception (start) date, in the way that other traditional biomedical databases do.
MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. ScienceDirect Help
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of journals and books published by Springer, covering the sciences, technology, computer science and medicine. SpringerLink Help
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
All-in-1 database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs. Basic Search Demo and Advanced Search Demo. The advanced video is from 2015 but the concepts still apply.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. ScienceDirect Help
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of journals and books published by Springer, covering the sciences, technology, computer science and medicine. SpringerLink Help
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is a comprehensive evidence-based clinical information resource available to RIT. UpToDate enables clinicians to: access the most current information within their specialty, recognize the clinical manifestations of a wide variety of disorders and describe current options for diagnosis, management and therapy, including the efficacy, doses, and interactions of individual drugs, and Identify optimal screening and prevention strategies.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. 1400 individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets).

CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to provide scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.
New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)

Library of Congress - THOMAS site is the source for federal legislative information. THOMAS was launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public.THOMAS has expanded the scope of its offerings to include example features listed below.

Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window