There are many print and e-books on social media Type in your keywords in the library catalog below. Use subject and keyword searches to find the material you need. Remember to use other keywords like X (Twitter), Facebook, Instagram, Wiki, YouTube, LinkedIn, blogs, etc, for more specific info on those social media platforms.
You may check out print books for six weeks with your ID card. Some of our print books are off-site. You can still access these books with these steps. You will get an email within 1-2 days that it is available for pick-up at the library. Here is a video showing you how to request the item.
1. Click on the "request" tab above the search bar and click on request "RIT copy"
2. Fill in your email username and password
3. Request your book and click submit
Cause Marketing for Dummies
Create a mutually beneficial partnership between nonprofit and for-profit enterprises Cause marketing creates a partnership with benefits for both a nonprofit entity and a business. Written by an expert on cause marketing whose blog, SelfishGiving.com, is a key resource on the subject, this friendly guide shows both business owners and marketers for nonprofits how to build and sustain such a partnership using social media such as Facebook and Twitter. It covers new online tools, how to identify potential partners, tips on engaging your fans, and how to model a campaign on proven successes. Cause marketing is not marketing a cause, but a partnership between business and nonprofit that benefits both This guide offers an easy-to-understand blueprint for finding appropriate partners, planning and setting up a campaign using Facebook, Twitter, and blogs, measuring campaign success, and more Explains online tools such as Quick Response Codes, services like Causon and The Point, and location marketing services including Foursquare, Whrrl, and Gowalla Features case studies that illustrate successful campaign techniques Cause Marketing For Dummies helps both businesses and nonprofits reap the benefits of effective cause marketing.
Cross-Cultural Social Media Marketing
To increase brand awareness, engagement and revenue, companies are acknowledging the importance of integrating social media marketing in their overall marketing strategy. Social media marketing complements a brand or company's current marketing strategy as it aids in amplifying a company's brand voice and presence. This book consists of a step-by-step guide in using social media successfully in an ever-growing consumer market, domestically and internationally. Marketers must be strategic in how they utilize these platforms by first understanding their consumers, while at the same time, meeting their business goals and objectives. Case studies on companies that use social media and advanced technologies to increase their brand awareness, engagement and conversion are discussed in this book. As businesses globalize, many marketers are struggling to establish a presence outside of the United States. Thus, this book also discusses the cultural differences in each country and how these differences matter when considering the usage of each of the social media platforms in certain countries. In this new work, digital marketing expert Emi Moriuchi educates business owners, marketing practitioners, students, as well as marketing researchers in understanding the usage of social media strategy . Containing both evergreen content as well as trending knowledge in the consumer market, this is a must-read for understanding social media marketing for domestic and international market.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods offers a step-by-step guide to overcoming the challenges inherent in research projects that deal with "big and broad data," from the formulation of research questions through to the interpretation of findings. This handbook includes chapters on specific social media platforms such as Twitter, Sina Weibo, and Instagram, as well as a series of critical chapters. The holistic approach is organized into the following sections: Conceptualizing & Designing Social Media Research Collection & Storage Qualitative Approaches to Social Media Data Quantitative Approaches to Social Media Data Diverse Approaches to Social Media Data Analytical Tools Social Media Platforms The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods is the single most comprehensive resource for any scholar or graduate student embarking on a social media project.
Social Media: Fundamentals, Models, and Ranking of User-Generated Content
The increasing amount of user-generated content available on social media platforms requires new methods to find, evaluate, and to compare. To this day, existing ranking approaches to user-generated content do not allow for evaluation across platforms by exploiting its metadata. User-generated content, such as blog postings, forum discussions, shared videos etc. does however contain information that can be used for its evaluation independent of specific search interests. Claudia Wyrwoll presents a query- and language-independent ranking approach that allows for global evaluation of user-generated content across different platforms. Building on an insightful introduction into social media fundamentals, she proposes new models describing phenomena associated with social media, laying the foundation for further research and development.
Social Media:how to engage, share, and connect
Updated to reflect the latest technological innovations and challenges, the fourth edition of Social Media: How to Engage, Share, and Connect helps students understand and successfully use today's social media tools as PR professionals and personal users. Regina (Gina) Luttrell presents a thorough history of social media and pioneers of the field within chapters on specific subjects such as content-sharing, crisis communication, ethics, "sticky" social media, and strategic campaigns. This book will become your go-to reference guide for all things social media-related as it applies to public relations and the everyday duties of PR professionals. Features of the fourth edition include: -Chapter objectives and learning outcomes -Social Media Expert profiles -Theory into Practice boxes -#LRNSMPR (Learn Social Media and Public Relations) boxes -Comprehensive glossary of terms -Coverage of additional social media channels (including Clubhouse and TikTok) and visual content in the social sphere New appendix with social media guidelines template
Social Media Data Mining and Analytics
Harness the power of social media to predict customer behavior and improve sales Social media is the biggest source of Big Data. Because of this, 90% of Fortune 500 companies are investing in Big Data initiatives that will help them predict consumer behavior to produce better sales results. Social Media Data Mining and Analytics shows analysts how to use sophisticated techniques to mine social media data, obtaining the information they need to generate amazing results for their businesses. Social Media Data Mining and Analytics isn't just another book on the business case for social media. Rather, this book provides hands-on examples for applying state-of-the-art tools and technologies to mine social media - examples include Twitter, Wikipedia, Stack Exchange, LiveJournal, movie reviews, and other rich data sources. In it, you will learn: The four key characteristics of online services-users, social networks, actions, and content The full data discovery lifecycle-data extraction, storage, analysis, and visualization How to work with code and extract data to create solutions How to use Big Data to make accurate customer predictions How to personalize the social media experience using machine learning Using the techniques the authors detail will provide organizations the competitive advantage they need to harness the rich data available from social media platforms.
Social Media Design for Dummies
Learn to design professional and effective social media profiles! Whether you're trying to attract a new employer or get new fans to notice your brand, your social media profiles need to distinguish you from the masses. Packed with the secrets behind the hottest Facebook timelines, Twitter backgrounds, and LinkedIn profiles, this fun-but-straightforward guide shows you how to create eye-catching social media profiles with a professional, cohesive design. Includes online resources and downloadable templates that allow you to make your own profiles quick and easy Reveals techniques for making a memorable and unique Twitter background, Facebook profile and page, LinkedIn profile, Google+ profile, and more Details ways in which to use Pinterest boards and cover photos to showcase your brand Shows you how to make the most of Rebelmouse and YouTube. Social Media Design For Dummies is a must-have introductory guide to creating a professional, effective, and cohesive design that will better communicate your brand's story to future partners, employers, and customers.
Strategic Social Media: From Marketing to Social Change
Strategic Social Media is the first textbook to go beyond the marketing plans and how-to guides, and provide an overview of the theories, action plans, and case studies necessary for teaching students and readers about utilizing social media to meet marketing goals. Explores the best marketing practices for reaching business goals, while also providing strategies that students/readers can apply to any past, present or future social media platform Provides comprehensive treatment of social media in five distinct sections: landscape, messages, marketing and business models, social change, and the future Emphasizes social responsibility and ethics, and how this relates to capitalizing on market share Highlights marketing strategies grounded in research that explains how practitioners can influence audience behaviour Each chapter introduces theory, practice, action plans, and case studies to teach students the power and positive possibilities that social media hold
Working the Crowd
Engaging with social media such as Facebook and Twitter is now a key part of global business communications. Blogs, social networking and social news sites have become the new tools for effective marketing and sales. This book is an excellent resource for anyone planning a social media strategy or campaign. It includes: sites and blogs for networking; social media brands and reputation; legal issues. This new edition covers the latest thinking, practices and technology such as Google+.
Disability and Social Media
There is a chapter written about Deaf Polish people and Social Media.
Mastering Story, Community and Influence
Your digital presence tells the story of who you are... so what should you be saying? In a world overflowing with the noise of Facebook updates, tweets, blog posts, Pinterest pins and YouTube video responses, it's difficult to connect with the people who matter most to your business and your career. Mastering Story, Community and Influence explains the art of social media storytelling, showing you how to turn your offline expertise into the sort of online thought-leadership that cuts through the noise and attracts larger, more important communities. Whether you're new to social media or racing to keep up with every new platform, social media storyteller extraordinaire, Jay Oatway, reveals the underlying mechanics and best practices behind becoming a serious online influencer. Mastering Story, Community and Influence will help you become an authoritative presence online and build both the reputation and community you need for your future success in the Social Media Era.
Promotional Culture and Convergence
The rapid growth of promotional material through the internet, social media, and entertainment culture has created consumers who are seeking out their own information to guide their purchasing decisions. Promotional Culture and Convergence analyses the environments necessary for creating a culture of collaboration with consumers, and critically engages with key areas of contemporary promotional development, including: promotional culture's primary industries, including advertising, marketing, PR and branding, and how are they informed by changes in consumer behaviour and market conditions how industries are adapting in the digital age to attract both audiences and advertising revenue the evolving dialogues between 'new consumers' and producers and promotional industries. Ten contributions from leading theorists on contemporary promotional culture presents an indispensable guide to this creative and dynamic field and include detailed historical analysis, in-depth case studies and global examples of promotion through TV, magazines, newspapers and cinema.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media
The world is in the midst of a social media paradigm. Once viewed as trivial and peripheral, social media platforms like Twitter, Facebook and WeChat have become an important part of the information and communication infrastructure of society. They are bound up with business and politics as well as everyday life, work, and personal relationships. This international Handbook addresses the most significant research themes, methodological approaches and debates in the study of social media. It contains substantial chapters written especially for this book by leading scholars from a range of disciplinary perspectives, covering everything from computational social science to sexual self-expression. Part 1: Histories And Pre-Histories Part 2: Approaches And Methods Part 3: Platforms, Technologies And Business Models Part 4: Cultures And Practices Part 5: Social And Economic Domains
Social Media: A Reference Handbook
Social media is arguably one of the most powerful technology-enabled innovations since the Internet itself. This single-volume book provides a broad and easily understandable discussion of the evolution of social media; related problems and controversies, especially for youth; key people and organizations; and useful social media data. Social media is an integral part of people's lives. More than half of the world's 2.4 billion Internet users sign in to a social network regularly--a figure that continues to grow. More than half of online adults now use two or more social media sites; 71 percent of Internet users are on Facebook. This book surveys the history of social media, addresses the power of social media for positive change, describes the problems and controversies social media have caused, and suggests potential solutions to these issues. Geared toward students and general readers, this accessibly written book covers such topics as the link between social media and body image, the psychological affects of social media use, online conversations about sexual assault, corporate use of social media data, political campaigning through social media, fan tweeting during television shows, and crisis communication through social media. Readers will also gain insights into the range of serious problems related to social media, including privacy concerns, social media addiction, social media hoaxes and scams, the pressure to project an ideal self, the curation of content presented on social media, cyberbullying, sexting, Facebook depression and envy, online shaming, and the impact of social media use on communication skills. Provides readers with a clearly written overview of the impacts of social media worldwide that highlights key people and companies in the development of social media Presents up-to-date information on the range of problems related to social media and presents potential solutions Offers a variety of voices from social media experts, supplying perspectives from creators to users
Social Media for Strategic Communication
Social Media for Strategic Communication: Creative Strategies and Research-Based Applications Second Edition teaches students the skills and principles needed to use social media in persuasive communication campaigns. Author Karen Freberg combines cutting edge research with practical, on-the-ground instruction to prepare students for the real-world challenges they'll face in the workplace. By focusing on strategic thinking and awareness, this book gives students the tools they need to adapt what they learn to new platforms and technologies that may emerge in the future. A broad focus on strategic communication - from PR, advertising, and marketing, to non-profit advocacy--gives students a broad base of knowledge that will serve them wherever their careers may lead. The Second Edition features new case studies and exercises, and increased coverage of diversity and inclusion issues and influencer marketing trends.
Social Media Mining
The growth of social media over the last decade has revolutionized the way individuals interact and industries conduct business. Individuals produce data at an unprecedented rate by interacting, sharing, and consuming content through social media. Understanding and processing this new type of data to glean actionable patterns presents challenges and opportunities for interdisciplinary research, novel algorithms and tool development. Social Media Mining integrates social media, social network analysis, and data mining to provide a coherent platform to understand the basics and potentials of social media mining. It introduces the unique problems arising from social media data and presents fundamental concepts, emerging issues, and effective algorithms for network analysis and data mining. Suitable for use in advanced undergraduate and beginning graduate courses as well as professional short courses, the text contains exercises of different degrees of difficulty that improve understanding and help apply concepts, principles and methods for social media mining.
Start with Why
The inspirational bestseller that ignited a movement and asked us to find our WHY Discover the book that is captivating millions on TikTok and that served as the basis for one of the most popular TED Talks of all time--with more than 56 million views and counting. Over a decade ago, Simon Sinek started a movement that inspired millions to demand purpose at work, to ask what was the WHY of their organization. Since then, millions have been touched by the power of his ideas, and these ideas remain as relevant and timely as ever. START WITH WHY asks (and answers) the questions: why are some people and organizations more innovative, more influential, and more profitable than others? Why do some command greater loyalty from customers and employees alike? Even among the successful, why are so few able to repeat their success over and over? People like Martin Luther King Jr., Steve Jobs, and the Wright Brothers had little in common, but they all started with WHY. They realized that people won't truly buy into a product, service, movement, or idea until they understand the WHY behind it. START WITH WHY shows that the leaders who have had the greatest influence in the world all think, act and communicate the same way--and it's the opposite of what everyone else does. Sinek calls this powerful idea The Golden Circle, and it provides a framework upon which organizations can be built, movements can be led, and people can be inspired. And it all starts with WHY.
Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty
and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.
