ⓘ RIT Ready: Moving Forward Into Fall

For the health and safety of our community, we are reconfiguring library spaces, modifying access to collections, and adding more virtual services for the Fall semester. More information.

Audism and Deaf-Gain: Reference Works & Books

This guide points to resources about Audism and Deaf-Gain
https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43304

Finding Encyclopedias & Books

This is a medium blue book cover of the gold-lettered title, Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness. In the upper right hand corner there is a blue logo of deafness (ear outline with a bar across the ear) against a black background. Gallaudet Encyclopedia and The Sage Deaf Studies Encyclopedia provide background information about Deaf Culture which can help you find topic ideas. There are also books offering in-depth scholarly analyses of Audism and Deaf-Gain. Use the RIT Libraries Catalog to find more books on this topic.

Use the keywords audism or "discrimination AND deaf", "oppression AND deaf" or "deaf AND civil rights".  If interested in language issues, use the keywords, oralism, "George Veditz", Milan and deaf, or "Alexander Graham Bell" and deaf Tove Skutnabb-Kangas writes about linguism and linguicide. Use the keywords "deaf culture", "deaf way", "deafspace" or Deafhood to find Deaf-Gain concepts

Deaf people express their experiences of Audism and Deaf-Gain through Prose and PoetrySign Language Poetry and LiteratureDramaCinema, and Visual Arts.

Tip: Use the bibliography at the end of the book chapters or encyclopedia articles to find more works. 

Audism Title Examples

eBooks

Check out these ebook databases for more titles related to your topic.

Interlibrary Loan: Books

Many books are available in the library but sometimes you will identify books we have not bought.  Use Information Delivery Service (IDS) to order books or book chapters. This is a free service.

If we do not have the book in our Collection or the ConnectNY Collection, order it from IDS.

IDS requests usually take 3-5 business days.  When the item arrives you will receive an email.  If it is an entire book it will be available for check-out at the Circulation Desk.  If it is a book chapter it will usually be delivered as a PDF into your IDS account.

Deaf-Gain Title Examples

Choosing Topics via LIV@RIT

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon