InfoGuides: Marketing (MKTG): Audience Profile

Last Updated: Nov 18, 2024 3:31 PM

Overview

The resources on this page will help you build an audience profile for your campaign including:

Demographic Segmentation: Information on the personal characteristics of your target audience such as age, income, education, gender, occupation, or religion
Geographic Segmentation: Information on the physical location of your target consumer such as weather patterns or cultural norms
Psychographic Segmentation: Information on the lifestyle traits of your target consumer such as activities, personality, or interests
Behavioral Segmentation: Information on the shopping and buying behavior of your target audience

Resources in this box are free via the web.

Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Contains easy to retrieve United States population, housing, business and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

Census Data
As of 7/1/19 this site replaces American Fact Finder. Watch this overview from the US Census Bureau to see the changes and how to search.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. 1400 individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets).

New York State Statistical Yearbook
PolicyMap
This GIS-based tool allows users to generate maps on topics related to demographics, incomes and spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, and health. Please note, this is a subscription-based tool - only a portion of the database's content is available for free to the RIT community.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
National Center for Education Statistics
RIT Institutional Research and Policy Studies
Digest of Education Statistics
Government site various data on US educational system.

Claritas 360 This link opens in a new window
Access to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles. B2C only.

Decision Matrix and Breadcrumb Trail for Claritas
Use this to choose which report is right for your need and to locate which section of the database it resides.

Claritas 360 This link opens in a new window
Access to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles. B2C only.

Decision Matrix and Breadcrumb Trail for Claritas
Use this to choose which report is right for your need and to locate which section of the database it resides.

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Consumer market research and analyst insights for the US primarily with limited insights coverage for other countries. NOTE: Our subscription does not permit the use or uploading of Mintel content or data into external applications, software or websites that use AI technology.

Mintel This link opens in a new window
Consumer market research and analyst insights for the US primarily with limited insights coverage for other countries. NOTE: Our subscription does not permit the use or uploading of Mintel content or data into external applications, software or websites that use AI technology.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Consumer lifestyle and consumer industry market research reports for countries around the globe. Also includes downloadable economic, population, income, product and lifestyle data. DONATED: The McClure Collection given by J. Warren and Lois McClure in support of the RIT College of Business.

First Research
Use First Research for business to business market research. These are short reports from Dun & Bradstreet. Add the search and ti(industry word) to the search string.

Richard K. Miller Marketing Reports This link opens in a new window
Market research for select topics: business to business marketing, gaming, consumer behavior, consumer marketing, consumer use of the internet, sports marketing, healthcare, retailing, leisure market, entertainment & advertising, restaurants, travel & tourism. B2C and B2B