InfoGuides: PSYC 222 BioPsychology (Bosworth): Introduction: e-Encyclopedias

Introduction

This InfoGuide supports your Psychology 222 class which focuses on neuroscience. Book, database, and video resources are available for you to explore. It is always good to start with an encyclopedia or a handbook for background information on various topics within neurosciences. A recommended encyclopedia is the e-book, Encyclopedia of Neuroscience. You can use the RIT Libraries catalog and use your keywords to find encyclopedias, such as neuroscience AND encyclopedia. Several other e-encyclopedias are listed below.

Sample Encyclopedia Titles

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy One of the hallmarks of cognitive behavior therapy is its diversity today. Since its inception, over twenty-five years ago, this once-revolutionary approach to psychotherapy has grown to encompass treatments across the full range of psychological disorders. The Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy brings together all of the key aspects of this field distilling decades of clinical wisdom into one authoritative volume. It reviews the latest empirical data on first-line therapies and combination approaches, to give readers both insights into clients' problems and the most effective treatments available. Common disorders and conditions: anxiety, depression,OCD, phobias, sleep disturbance, eating disorders, grief, anger Essential components of treatment: the therapeutic relationship,case formulation, homework, relapse prevention, Treatment methods: dialectical behavior therapy, REBT, paradoxical interventions, social skills training, stress inoculation, play therapy, CBT/medicine combinations, Applications of CBT with specific populations: children, adolescents, couples, dually diagnosed clients, the elderly, veterans, refugees Emerging problems: Internet addiction, chronic pain, narcolepsy pathological gambling, jet lag All entries feature reference lists and are cross-indexed. The Encyclopedia of Cognitive Behavior Therapy capably fills practitioners' and educators' needs for an idea book, teaching text, or quick access to practical, workable interventions.
Encyclopedia of Psychopharmacology Psychopharmacology is the study of the effects of psychoactive drugs on the functioning of the central nervous system at all levels of analysis, thus embracing cognition, behavior, psychological states, neurophysiology, neurochemistry, gene expression, and molecular biology. It includes, as an integral part of its domain, the interaction of environmental and genetic factors with psychoactive drug action, the medicinal and social uses of drugs, and the misuse and abuse of psychoactive substances.
Handbook of Developmental Psychopathology When developmental psychologists set forth the theory that the roots of adult psychopathology could be traced to childhood experience and behavior, the idea quickly took hold. Subsequently, as significant research in this area advanced during the past decade, more sophisticated theory, more accurate research methodologies, and improved replication of empirical findings have been the result. The Third Edition of the Handbook of Developmental Psychopathology incorporates these research advances throughout its comprehensive, up-to-date examination of this diverse and maturing field. Integrative state-of-the-art models document the complex interplay of risk and protective factors and other variables contributing to normal and pathological development. New and updated chapters describe current refinements in assessment methods and offer the latest research findings from neuroscience. In addition, the Third Edition provides readers with a detailed review across the spectrum of salient topics, from the effects of early deprivation to the impact of puberty. As the field continues to shift from traditional symptom-based concepts of pathology to a contemporary, dynamic paradigm, the Third Edition addresses such key topics as: Early Childhood disorders, including failure to thrive and attachment disorders. Aggression, ADHD, and other disruptive conditions.  Developmental models of depression, anxiety, self-injury/suicide, and OCD.  The autism spectrum and other chronic developmental disorders.  Child maltreatment and trauma disorders.  The Third Edition of the Handbook of Developmental Psychopathology is a discipline-defining, forward-looking resource for researchers, clinicians, scientist-practitioners, and graduate students in such fields as developmental psychology, psychiatry, social work, child and school psychology, educational psychology, and pediatrics.

Sample Encyclopedia Titles

Encyclopedia of Clinical Neuropsychology The encyclopedia addresses assessment strategies, behavioral syndromes and disorders, care systems, dagnosis and diagnostic labels, educational and forensic issues, neuroimaging modalities and techniques, prominent scientists in the field, psychopharmacology, professional issues, rehabilitation interventions, neuropsychological test batteries, and much more. Includes illustrations, tables, and recommendations for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience This 5000-page masterwork is literally the last word on the topic and will be an essential resource for many. Unique in its breadth and detail, this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive and highly readable guide to a complex and fast-expanding field. The five-volume reference work gathers more than 10,000 entries, including in-depth essays by internationally known experts, and short keynotes explaining essential terms and phrases. In addition, expert editors contribute detailed introductory chapters to each of 43 topic fields ranging from the fundamentals of neuroscience to fascinating developments in the new, inter-disciplinary fields of Computational Neuroscience and Neurophilosophy. Some 1,000 multi-color illustrations enhance and expand the writings.
Fundamentals of Cognitive Neuroscience This is a comprehensive, yet accessible, beginner's guide on cognitive neuroscience. This text takes a distinctive, commonsense approach to help newcomers easily learn the basics of how the brain functions when we learn, act, feel, speak and socialize. This updated edition includes contents and features that are both academically rigorous and engaging, including a step-by-step introduction to the visible brain, colorful brain illustrations, and new chapters on emerging topics in cognition research, including emotion, sleep and disorders of consciousness, and discussions of novel findings that highlight cognitive neuroscience's practical applications. Written by two leading experts in the field and thoroughly updated, this book remains an indispensable introduction to the study of cognition. Winner of a 2019 Textbook Excellence Award (College) (Texty) from the Textbook and Academic Authors Association Presents an easy-to-read introduction to mind-brain science based on a simple functional diagram linked to specific brain functions Provides new, up-to-date, colorful brain images directly from research labs Contains "In the News" boxes that describe the newest research and augment foundational content Includes both a student and instructor website with basic terms and definitions, chapter guides, study questions, drawing exercises, downloadable lecture slides, test bank, flashcards, sample syllabi and links to multimedia resources