Here are some streaming videos related to Stress from Films on Demand as well as book titles. Below is the RIT Libraries Catalog you can use to search for these topics. You can also search Films on Demand/Kanopy to find more videos not listed here.
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for educational films and videos including titles from PBS, the BBC, CNN, celebrated documentarians, TED Talks, National Geographic, and more. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.
Kanopy is a streaming video service including movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.
Sample Video Titles
Managing and Coping with StressPsychologists have studied the cognitive and emotional strategies we use to cope with stress for decades. This program explores the benefits and costs of two widely recognized strategies: Avoidance and Approach. Additional strategies of social support, exercise, drug therapy and biofeedback are also discussed
Aggression: Is Violence Learned?Do children who watch violent TV shows become violent themselves, or is anyone from any background capable of murder? This program explores two theories of extreme aggression: that it is learned from media and other elements of one's social environment, and that it can be induced by the command of authority figures. Research into violence is illustrated using Milgram's conformity experiments, Hannah Arendt's ideas about "the banality of evil" in Nazi concentration camps, the Columbine shootings, and the tragic case of James Bulger, a toddler who was murdered in 1993 by two 10-year-olds from abusive households
Emotions, Stress and HealthCommentary from scientists, dramatic reenactments, and graphic illustrations show the consequences of prolonged stress on health. Animated diagrams show the brain releasing hormones, followed by a role-playing situation illustrating on-the-job stress that may set this process in motion. Researchers explain how low-level stress leads to the breakdown of frontal lobe functioning.
Stress: Locus of Control and PredictabilityThe classic rat experiment described by Dr. Jay Weiss of Rockefeller University, New York, is presented in this module. Two rats are connected to a stressor — an electric shock to the tail. One rat is able to turn off the stimulus by turning a wheel, while the other receives the stress stimulus regardless of what it does. The rat with more control is shown to suffer fewer deleterious health consequences.
Sample Book Titles
The Handbook of StressThe Handbook of Stress: Neuropsychological Effects on the Brain is an authoritative guide to the effects of stress on brain health, with a collection of articles that reflect the most recent findings in the field. Presents cutting edge findings on the effects of stress on brain health Examines stress influences on brain plasticity across the lifespan, including links to anxiety, PTSD, and clinical depression Features contributions by internationally recognized experts in the field of brain health Serves as an essential reference guide for scholars and advanced students
Encyclopedia of EmotionThis unique two-volume reference is an accessible, up-to-date resource for the rich and fascinating study of human emotion. Drawing on both contemporary and classic research, Encyclopedia of Emotion explores the complex realities of our emotional lives and communicates what psychologists have learned about them to date in a clear and captivating way. The landmark work bridges the divide within psychology as a discipline between basic and applied science, gathering together in one comprehensive resource both theoretical and clinical perspectives on this important subject. In two volumes, Encyclopedia of Emotion offers more than 400 alphabetically organized entries on a broad range of topics, including the neurological foundations of emotional function, competing theories of emotion, multicultural perspectives on emotions, emotional disorders, their diagnosis and treatment, and profiles of important organizations and key figures who have shaped our understanding of how and why we feel the way we do. * Comprises 400 A-Z entries on emotion, including general emotions, emotion theories, emotion research, emotional disorders, treatments of emotional disorders, assessment of emotional traits, organizations devoted to studying emotion, and significant people who have contributed to the understanding of emotion * Provides a chronology of the ways emotion has been conceived, research on emotion, treatment of emotional disorders, and assessment of emotional traits * Offers a bibliography of suggested print and online resources on emotion for further research * Includes a comprehensive index