InfoGuides: PSYC 222 BioPsychology (Bosworth): Alzheimer's e-Videos/Books

Alzheimer's Disease

Here are some streaming videos related to Alzheimer's Disease from Films on Demand as well as book titles. Below is the RIT Libraries Catalog you can use to search for these topics. You can also search Films on Demand to find more videos not listed here

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for educational films and videos including titles from PBS, the BBC, CNN, celebrated documentarians, TED Talks, National Geographic, and more. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.

Sample Video Titles

Curing Alzhemier's Alzheimer's is the fastest growing disease in the world's ageing population. Thirty million people around the world suffer from the condition. For the last 10 years, billions of dollars have been spent on trying to develop antibodies to vaccinate, or even cure, patients. But all of them have failed, until now. The search for a cure for Alzheimer's has finally taken a revolutionary step forward. This film looks at the promising work on all fronts, from the scientists working on catching the disease at its earliest stages to the researchers working to understand the causes
Early Choices Prevent Alzheimer's New research indicates that this incurable disease might be preventable by adopting certain health and lifestyle habits early in life
Living with Alzheimer's In this short program comprised of startling statistics and interview footage, we learn how Alzheimer's impacts not only the person with the disease, but also those around them. Medical experts and social workers talk about what we know about the disease, who is impacted by it, and the types of therapy that are used in treating it, such as music therapy. They also discuss the importance of physical fitness

Web Videos

Alzheimer's Disease
more...less...
When this program was first filmed, Eleanor, age 51, was in the early stages of Alzheimer's disease. This module follows Eleanor's physical and mental decline after the initial filming. Pathology in the brainstem and other regions in the brains of Alzheimer's patients are shown to interfere with acetylcholine release, resulting in neuronal atrophy. The module discusses our current knowledge of the disease and the direction of future research.
Organic Mental Disorders A teenager must relearn all the basic skills following a head injury. After years of alcohol abuse, a man loses his short-term memory. A woman sees her husband struggle against the ravages of Alzheimer's disease. Science and technology's role in treating these debilitating disorders is also examined in this program.

Sample Book Titles

The Encyclopedia of Elder Care The third edition of this outstanding resource reflects the many advances in the care of older people that have occurred since the publication of the second edition in 2007... The vast bulk of the content is accessible and relevant to an international audience. The indexing and cross-referencing are excellent... Score: 5/5 stars." -- Margaret Arthur, Nursing Standard "The information in this book] is amazing. I reviewed topics in which I have expertise and was very satisfied. This is an excellent addition to my library and I will refer to it often, much like a medical dictionary... Score: 90, 4 Stars."--Doody's Medical Reviews The third edition of this encyclopedia provides 273 comprehensive, yet succinct, entries on a variety of topics related to elder care. √ In addition, many of the entries include see also references that help readers easily navigate the book. Entries are written at an undergraduate level and would be useful for practitioners, students, and caregivers√ Recommended."--Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries This interdisciplinary clinical reference encompasses more than 310 current entries on a broad range of topics related to geriatrics and geriatric care across multiple health care disciplines. The third edition reflects the many advances in geriatrics that have occurred since the publication of the second edition in 2006. It contains the updated, evidence-based contributions of more than 260 nationally recognized geriatric healthcare professionals regarding elder-care concerns relating to society, community, caregiving, and the individual. Completely new entries address Geriatric Care Models (acute care for elders, Project BOOST), Geriatric Health Issues (diarrhea in adults, prolonged hospitalization, frailty, fronto-temporal dementia, re-hospitalization, acute urinary retention, personality and aging, primary palliative care), Technology and Aging (Smart home sensors, Telehealth, Surveillance technology), and more. The Encyclopedia is organized alphabetically and includes links to important Web-based resources and Apps. Clinical topics comprehensively address diagnosis, treatment, and disease management. Health care clinicians across the continuum will find this reference√>=the only one of its kind--to be a valuable guide to making appropriate referrals to social service providers, and social service professionals will be well informed by highly accessible descriptions of diagnoses, clinical syndromes, and care management. Key Features: Includes over 310 updated geriatric and geriatric care clinical entries across multiple healthcare disciplines Contains state-of-the-art contributions from over 260 nationally recognized geriatric healthcare experts Provides clinical content for social service professionals and social care information for clinicians Offers new information on multiple topics relating to Geriatric Care Models, Geriatric Health Concerns, and Technology and Aging References numerous Web-based resources and Apps
Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders "The Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders, 2nd Edition is a two-volume set designed for allied health students, patients, and the general public. This title offers the user a comprehensive collection of interrelated articles on a wide range of neurological topics for a ""one-stop"" approach to finding answers. The collection of entries covers neurological disorders ranging from the obscure and rare to the common and well-known (including Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, etc.). The encyclopedia also includes entries on related medications and drug classes, patient and caregiver support, as well as background articles on brain and nervous system anatomy and function. "