InfoGuides: PSYC 222 BioPsychology (Bosworth): Psycho-Social Deprivation e-Videos/Books

Psycho-Social Deprivation

Here are some streaming videos related to Social Interaction//Deprivation from YouTubae s well as book titles. Below is the RIT Libraries Catalog you can use to search for these topics.

Web Videos

Shocking Cases of Romania's Abandoned Children
more...less...
Everyone remembers the shocking pictures of Romanian orphans, tied to their cots in squalid institutions. Decades on, many children are still being held in old-style institutions.

Babies at the pediatric unit are unnaturally quiet. They've learnt there's no point in crying. "They have no affiliation, no stability", laments supervisor Dr Monica Nicoara. Previously, many of these babies would have been adopted by Western families. But foreign adoptions are now banned and authorities want to find Romanian families for abandoned children. However this new system has failed many of the country's most vulnerable. Ricardo and George ended up on the streets after their parents abandoned them. They've given up on the state and now take care of each other.
From Romania With Love In 1990 Romania, the world was stunned by what was revealed: Images of orphanages, of starving, freezing unloved children, suffering shocking untold misery. Crammed into small rooms, bed-bound on rotting faeces stained matresses, they were closeted away from the society and often malnourished. Many of them in fact were not orphans, but had been placed in the institutions by the desperately poor families who had been forced to have more children than necessary as part of Nicolae Ceausescu’s insane population building policy. Thousands of parents all over the world responded by going to Romania to adopt a child. In some cases it took as little as two weeks to complete the process. 324 children were officially adopted into English families and 787 into Irish families. This documentary will tell some of their stories, as we trace the progress of a group of these Romanian orphans and their adoptive families.
Findings from the Bucharest Early Intervention Project Early Life Deprivation Experience is the engine that drives much of postnatal brain development. When children are deprived of key (i.e., experience-expected) experiences, particularly during critical periods of development, brain and behavioral development can be derailed. There is perhaps no more egregious form of deprivation than being raised in large, state-run institutions. Charles Nelson (Harvard Medical School) discusses the Bucharest Early Intervention Project, a long-term study that includes infants abandoned to institutions. Recorded on 10/11/2019. [Show ID: 35285] More from: Impact of Early Life Deprivation on Cognition: Implications for the Evolutionary Origins of the Human Mind (https://www.uctv.tv/carta-deprivation)

Sample Book Titles

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development remains the most authoritative and accessible account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, its comprehensive coverage includes everything from prenatal development to adolescence, pediatrics, theories and research methods, physical development, social and emotional development, perceptual and cognitive development, language development, psychopathology, and parenting. The second edition has also been thoroughly updated to reflect major developments over the last decade in areas such as neuroscientific methods, developmental cognitive and social neuroscience, the effects of environmental influences on gene expression, and the relationship between human development and evolution. Throughout 124 entries, the Encyclopedia advocates an integrated, interdisciplinary approach to the study of child development.
Families and Child Health In recent years, there has been an explosion of research on the early origins of adult health. A growing body of evidence documents that maternal health before conception, prenatal and perinatal exposures, and conditions in childhood play critical roles in health over the life course. Scientific understanding of the multiple and interacting influences on child health and their role in later health continues to evolve rapidly, but greater attention to how families shape the conditions of early life that underlie childhood health is needed. This volume aims to advance understanding of this topic, with attention to mechanisms through which health disparities emerge and are sustained across the lifespan.
The International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction, 3 Volume Set The International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction is an invaluable reference work featuring contributions from leading global scholars, available both online and as a three-volume print set. The definitive international reference work on a topic of major and increasing importance, in a new series of sub-disciplinary international encyclopedias Provides state-of-the-art research for scholars in a highly interactive and accessible format, available both online and as a three-volume print set Covers key research topics in the field with contributions from a team of experienced, global editors Successfully brings into a single source, explication of all of the fascinating and ground-breaking Language and Social Interaction work developing globally and across subjects Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library