Here are some streaming videos related to Schizophrenia from Films on Demand, as well as book titles. Below is the RIT Libraries Catalog you can use to search for these topics. You can also search Films on Demand to find more videos not listed here.
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for educational films and videos including titles from PBS, the BBC, CNN, celebrated documentarians, TED Talks, National Geographic, and more. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.
Sample Video Titles
Unlocking the Secrets of SchizophreniaAt least two million people will fall victim to schizophrenia in their lifetime-more men than women, according to statistics. This award-winning documentary goes straight to the National Institutes of Health to examine what causes schizophrenia and what some of the available treatments are. See how medications are researched and developed and how scientists, mental health advocacy groups, and government agencies are joining forces to improve the lives of people with schizophrenia. Senator Peter Domenici (R-NM) discusses specific government efforts aimed at dealing with the disorder
Black SchizophreniaA 1988 English study of psychiatric disorders claims that Afro-Caribbeans living in England are ten times more likely to develop schizophrenia. Could such a study reflect a racist society? This classic Horizon documentary sheds light on the incidence of schizophrenia among ethnic minorities like Afro-Caribbean people. As the documentary points out, there seems to be an excessive diagnosis of schizophrenia among black people, but this finding must be viewed with caution. Genetics could be involved, but cultural and racial issues should also be recognized. In the final analysis, all research concerned with race or culture needs to be reviewed with sensitivity
The Diagnosis of SchizophreniaDrawing upon interviews with a number of patients he met in the United States, Professor David Goldberg vividly demonstrates most of the first-rank symptoms identified by psychiatrist Kurt Schneider
Schizophrenia : new definitions, new therapiesUsing interviews with medical authorities including neuropsychiatrist Richard Petty, of the University of Pennsylvania Medical Center, and outstanding computer animation of the brain, this program provides an update on the causes and treatments of schizophrenia. NewsHour correspondent Susan Dentzer focuses on a young Philadelphia man trying desperately to control this devastating disorder. Although new atypical antipsychotic drugs such as Olanzapine, Risperidone, and Quetiapine are proving helpful-to those who can afford them-experts agree that a strong community support program is also essential to achieve lasting recovery
The Torment of schizophreniaAlthough one out of every hundred people in the world will likely wrestle with schizophrenia, the disease remains one of psychiatry's greatest therapeutic challenges. Enhanced by computer animations of the brain, this poignant program uses several case studies and expert commentary to promote a better understanding of schizophrenia: its causes and warning signs, current treatments, and how it affects the lives of those who have it. The phases of a psychotic attack are described, and positive, negative, and cognitive symptoms are defined. In addition, approaches to mainstreaming patients are addressed
Crazywise, Rethinking Madness - Psychosis and Spiritual AwakeningCrazy...or wise? The traditional wisdom of indigenous cultures often contradicts modern views about a mental health crisis. Is it a 'calling' to grow or just a 'broken brain'? This documentary explores what can be learned from people around the world who have turned their psychological crisis into a positive transformative experience
Schizophrenia: SymptomsIn this module, mental health professionals observe a patient named Jerry, a classic schizophrenic. Jerry's case and medication schedule are described, and his disordered speech and behavior are shown. Prominent psychiatrists describe schizophrenia and the prognosis for those diagnosed with this disease; a locked psychiatric ward provides a graphic illustration.
Schizophrenia: EtiologyThis module covers the history of attitudes, beliefs, and theories about the etiology of schizophrenia. While the illness was long thought to be environmentally caused, this module emphasizes the scientific evidence in support of its organic origins. Dr. Arnold Scheibel of UCLA Medical Center describes cellular pathology in the hippocampus and speculates on the possible role of viruses. A genetic component is also demonstrated.
Schizophrenia: Pharmacological TreatmentDr. Arnold Scheibel reviews the various ways in which schizophrenia has been treated since the 1950s, ranging from the use of physical restraints and cool baths to the administration of antipsychotic drugs. He and other psychiatrists elaborate on the ways in which drugs alter the chemistry of the brain. Drugs that are effective seem to reduce the levels of dopamine in the brain — to provide amelioration and stabilization, not a cure.
Sample Book Titles
A Critical History of SchizophreniaSchizophrenia was 20th century psychiatry's arch concept of madness. Yet for most of that century it was both problematic and contentious. This history explores schizophrenia's historic instability via themes such as symptoms, definition, classification and anti-psychiatry. In doing so, it opens up new ways of understanding 20th century madness.
Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia : Focus on Management OptionsThis mini-encyclopedia aims to provide a survey of the wide range of interventions available for treating schizophrenia at a level appropriate for non-specialists who are beginning their engagement in the area and for others as a source of reference for the specialist. The pharmacological options are considered alongside psychosocial management approaches and the advantages and disadvantages of each treatment modality are outlined.
The Origins of SchizophreniaThe Origins of Schizophrenia synthesizes key findings on a devastating mental disorder that has been increasingly studied over the past decade. Advances in epidemiology, translational neuroscience technology, and molecular and statistical genetics have recast schizophrenia's neurobiological nature, identifying new putative environmental risk factors and candidate susceptibility genes. Providing the latest clinical and neuroscience research developments in a comprehensive volume, this collection by world-renowned investigators answers a pressing need for balanced, thorough information, while pointing to future directions in research and interdisciplinary collaboration. The book, featuring a foreword by Robert Freedman, M.D., thoroughly examines these topics from the vantage points of epidemiologic, clinical, and basic neuroscience approaches, making it an essential resource for researchers in psychiatry, psychology, and neuroscience and for clinical mental health professionals.
Schizophrenia Spectrum and Other Psychotic DisordersSchizophrenia Spectrum and Other Psychotic Disorder: DSM-5® Selections is crafted around a specific disorder cited in DSM-5®. This selection provides a comprehensive overview of the process of diagnosing schizophrenia spectrum and other psychotic disorders while serving as a reference guide to assist in the diagnosis of individual patients. The disorder-specific resource is an invaluable addition to the DSM-5® collection and an important contribution to the mental health profession. This book contains the critical disorder-specific content from these four titles: * Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5®) * DSM-5® Clinical Cases* DSM-5® Self-Exam Questions* DSM-5® Guidebook