ⓘ RIT Ready: Protect and Persevere

For the health and safety of our community, we have reconfigured library spaces, modified access to collections, and added more virtual services. More information.

NENG 231 Bridge to College English: Social Media

https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43304

Finding Encyclopedias & Books

 Encyclopedias are a good place to start in order to get background info, brainstorm, and find topic ideas.When you do a search for an encyclopedia, type in topic AND encyclopedia. Social Media is a broad topic which includes Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, PinInterest, Wikipedia, text messaging, Instant messaging, Skype, Facetime, social networking, social software, community technologies, and the like.Book cover image of an encyclopedia entitled The Social Media Revolution

Example: Social Media AND encyclopedia. Type in the keywords in the RIT Libraries Catalog. I found this encyclopedia, The Social Media Revolution which is an e-book and online. Try the Plunkett's Games, Apps, and Social Media e-book, Horizon Reports, and Pew Research Center for more ideas. Another encyclopedia is the Encyclopedia of Virtual Communities and Technologies.

Some encyclopedias are available on the 3rd and 4th floors and can be checked out. Others are on the 1st floor and cannot be checked out. Use the RIT Libraries Catalog below to find encyclopedias and books on your chosen topic.Another keyword you can use in addition to social media is online social networks.When looking for books, try the subject or keyword search.

Search the Library Catalog

After searching the RIT Libraries Catalog, if you cannot find what you need from our collection, look at the right side column and click on Connect NY. You can borrow books for free from university libraries in NY state.

Other Databases

Finding Database Articles: Start Here

Check out PBS videos.

What does MORE do for me?

Image of text more! in black font against a yellow background.

Check to see if we have the full text of your item whenever you see the MORE button! If a copy is not automatically found, an option to submit an order for the full text will appear! Click the button now to see what happens!

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon