ⓘ RIT Ready: Protect and Persevere

For the health and safety of our community, we have reconfigured library spaces, modified access to collections, and added more virtual services. More information.

NENG 231 Bridge to College English: Social Media-Deaf

https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43304

Finding Info on Deaf and Social Media

Image of a yellow book cover "It's a Small World"Social Media is a broad topic which includes Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, PinInterest, Wikipedia, text messaging, Instant messaging, Skype, Facetime, social networking, social software, community technologies, and the like. Deaf people are enthusiastic users of Social Media because there are no communication barriers. Facebook is popular with the Deaf community, and Jessica Cuculick did her dissertation on how the Deaf community's use of Facebook. Check out the list of references at the end of her dissertation to find some related articles on this topic. There is a chapter written by Cuculick and Kurz in the book It's a Small World: International Deaf Spaces and Encounters about social media and deaf people.

Other sample dissertations are: The Deaf and HH on Social Networking Sites: Identity, Community Building and Connections Between Communities, The Use of Community-based Technologies to Enhance the Educational Experience for DHH in Higher Education, and Literacies, Mobilities and Agencies of Deaf Youth in Turkey: Constraints and Opportunities in the 21st Century. 

Check out the Sage Deaf Studies Encyclopedia to get background information on this topic.

Search the Library Catalog

After searching the RIT Libraries Catalog, if you cannot find what you need from our collection, look at the right side column and click on Connect NY. You can borrow books for free from university libraries in NY state.

What does MORE do for me?

Image of text more! in black font against a yellow background.

Check to see if we have the full text of your item whenever you see the MORE button! If a copy is not automatically found, an option to submit an order for the full text will appear! Click the button now to see what happens!

Start with these Databases

Other Databases

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon