ⓘ RIT Ready: Protect and Persevere

For the health and safety of our community, we have reconfigured library spaces, modified access to collections, and added more virtual services. More information.

NENG 231 Bridge to College English: Ecotherapy

https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43304

Finding Encyclopedias and Books

Image of a book cover entitled "With Nature in Mind".Ecotherapy ("green therapy", "green exercise", "earth-centered therapy", "nature-based therapy", "nature-guided therapy",eco-wellness) refers to interacting with nature for healing and growth. This is a broad term for nature based methods of physical and psychological healing. Some examples of ecotherapy recreation are: gardening (horticultural) and plant/flower therapy, outdoors (adventure) therapy (camping), hiking therapy (walk and talk), animal assisted therapy like equine (horse) therapy, fishing, stargazing, bird-watching or wildlife viewing, photography and nature retreats.  Ecopsychology is the study of our psychological relations with nature. Check out With Nature in Mind: the Ecotherapy Manual for Mental Health Professionals and Forests, Trees, and Human Health

Some eBooks are available such as:Feel Better Outside, Feel Better Inside, and Making Sense of Ecotherapy.

You can research Deaf within this topic, such as outdoors recreation or adventure education. You can also research Deaf organizations (search Google) that participate in recreation and nature sports, ie, camping, gardening, horseback riding, fishing, and the like. There are organizations such as the World Recreation Association of the DHH and the USA Deaf Sports Federation. You can search Facebook for these interest groups. Gina Oliva has written articles about deaf and recreation which you can find in our books and database articles.

An interesting topic to explore is Sustainable TourismRural Tourism, Ecotourism, Wildlife Tourism, Green Resorts, National Parks, or Adventure and Sport Tourism. These focus on visiting rural areas, farms, protected lands (parks), botanical gardens, and nature adventure and sports retreats. Check out Green Cities and the Encyclopedia of Eco-Tourism.

Search the Library Catalog

After searching the RIT Libraries Catalog, if you cannot find what you need from our collection, start a new search, look at the right side column and click on Connect NY. You can borrow books for free from university libraries in NY state

Other Databases

Finding Database Articles: Start Here

Check out the PBS videos.

What does MORE do for me?

Image of text more! in black font against a yellow background.

Check to see if we have the full text of your item whenever you see the MORE button! If a copy is not automatically found, an option to submit an order for the full text will appear! Click the button now to see what happens!

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon